Hi!  How is everyone doing?  I’m running on empty after last night’s marathon baking session.  Luckily today was a short day and the schedule was easy peasy.  🙂  I was able to get in and get out, put the finishing touches on my pie (which was a success!) and serve it up to my coworkers all by 2:30.

I’ll admit I did not want to get out of bed this morning but I forced myself to get up and take the dogs for a walk (since I’m leaving them behind tonight) which I think gave me more energy for the rest of the day (and made them pretty happy too!)

After our walk I made this smoothie:

1 c frozen strawberries, 3/4 c almond milk, 1/4 c chocolate coconut water (loving it!) and a few hazelnuts (unpeeled, leftover from last night).

Then I assembled what I could of the pie (I had to put the finishing touches on later at work).

My sorry excuse for a crust...

All filled with yummy caramelized banana goodness 🙂

I also packed up my lunch and some snacks for the day.  (It felt strange to pack so lightly for just a half day at work).

Brown rice pasta w/ grilled chicken, broccoli and carrot slaw, a little olive oil and tamari, a pink lady apple, carrots and hummus from Trader Joe’s.  When I’m tired I know I tend to go into snack mode so I wanted to make sure I had some healthy options available.  I ended up eating all of that by 11 am and some organic cherries I’d left over in the break room fridge!  And of course I had to sample some of my pie. 😉

Check out that beauty!

Now I’m home relaxing for a bit before I get ready to head out for a hike and then head out to my parents’ house.  My sis is back in town and we’re going to hang out over there, make dinner and just chill.  On the menu for dinner: A frittata from the egg whites I saved from last night’s recipe.  I think we’re just going to throw in whatever we can find in the fridge (spinach, tomatoes, onion, avocado..?)  I’ll let you know how it turns out! 🙂

Kristi

