Hey, how’s your Tuesday going? 🙂

As you know, lately I’ve been running around like a loon.  Tuesday is my day off and I usually try to avoid scheduling too many things so I can be sure to get in some relaxation time but unfortunately today my schedule was jam packed with appointments.

I started off the morning with a smoothie-to-go (1 c frozen cherries, 1/2 banana, 1 c almond milk, protein powder and flax) that I sipped on the drive back from my parents’ place.

First stop was to see my trainer Kenny.  He had an all around circuit training workout prepared for me that I didn’t think I was going to have the energy to go through once, let alone twice but I powered through!  After I did a half hour treadmill run with hills.  I wasn’t feeling it at first but after a few minutes I got into a groove. (I know my body will thank me later).

After my workout I stopped home briefly.  This time of year in AZ it hits 90 degrees by 7 am and it was way too hot for a walk but Eddy and I did toss the ball around in the backyard for a few minutes. 🙂

After that I made myself another smoothie (I had been planning to make some hot quinoa cereal but in light of the warm weather a smoothie sounded much more refreshing). This one had 1/2 banana, a handful of spinach, a few frozen strawberries, 1 c almond milk and a handful of hazelnuts.  Sorry there’s no pic – I was in a rush –  but try this one!!  Very tasty if I do say so myself. 😉

Then I rushed off to a meeting with my financial planners who have been helping me consolidate my student loans and get the ball rolling for the purchase of my house. They have been absolutely great and luckily today’s meeting was a short one.

I left their office feeling good about my financial situation, and in a better mood overall. Still all the running around was starting to get to me and with the boxes I’d snagged from my parents’ house rattling around in the back of my car I could feel my patience beginning to wear thin before too long.  Besides I was starving and in my rush to get to my meeting I’d forgotten to pack snacks.  I was over near the Biltmore Shopping Plaza and although I’d planned on heading to Barnes and Noble to work on the blog before my next appointment that afternoon, I knew I had to stop and get something to eat before I completely ran out of steam.  I had been dying to try out True Food Kitchen so I decided to take a breather and grab some lunch solo.

I passed on dining outside (did I mention it’s hot in AZ?) and although it was packed indoors there was still a nice relaxing atmosphere even amidst the lunchtime rush.  The restaurant prides itself on serving simple fresh foods but I’ve found that sometimes that translates into a lack of flavor.  I was hoping this wouldn’t be the case as I scanned the menu for something fairly light and yet substantial at the same time.  I settled on the chicken chopped salad which had greens, cucumbers, olives, cherry tomatoes, quinoa and marcona almonds with a lemon oregano vinaigrette (I skipped on the feta since my stomach had been a little *off* lately from the extra stress).

True Food Kitchen:Chopped Chicken Salad

My picture does not do it justice, this salad was amazing!  The ingredients were so fresh and flavorful and the protein packed chicken and quinoa were perfect for refueling after my morning workout.

I also ordered this drink, aptly named The Natural, from their selection of natural refreshments which was soda, fresh ginger and agave.  It was the perfect compliment to my salad and I think the ginger helped settle out my stomach!

When the hostess showed me to my table she seated me at the chair facing the bench rather than the other way around which would have left me facing the window towards the front of the restaurant.  I thought it was a little odd but was too tired to move so this was my dining companion. 😉

So..do you come here often?

After lunch I took a few moments to sit and relax on a bench outside instead of just hurrying off to my next appointment.

One satisfied customer!

Between moving and work and starting a new blog it’s true that I have a lot of things on my plate and that can be exciting and also stressful. It’s times like these I need to remind myself to take a deep breath and take extra care to treat myself really well (which means fueling up on good food, getting plenty of rest and making time to relax).

SO with that in mind I’m going to skeedadle off bed and get a good night’s sleep so I can wake up with a refreshed and energized for the rest of my busy week.  And I suggest you do the same! 🙂

Kristi

