I knew it would catch up with me eventually…

When I’m running myself ragged and skimping on sleep my body looks for energy in the form of food and for me that usually means turning to sweets.   Sometimes when I’m in that mode I can have a few bites of something, just enough to satisfy my craving, and then I’m able to reel it in. Other times I nibble and snack until inevitably I launch into a full on feeding frenzy.

Lately I’ve been putting a ban on late night snacking for that very reason (especially after long days at work when I know I’m likely to snack out of sheer exhaustion and I’d be better off just going to bed).  Last night however, I could hear the beast inside of me calling – and I decided to feed it.  It started out innocently enough….

I dug the last slice of a raw strawberry cheesecake I’d made a couple weeks back towards the end of a detox out of the freezer and served it up over some coconut milk ice cream.

It actually did hit the spot and probably would have been enough but I was watching an episode of The Next Food Network Star and the contestants had been challenged to create a dinner recipe using various Hershey’s chocolate products.  I was inspired to make my own creation so I melted up some vegan dark chocolate chips, stirred in the last of the hazelnuts (good riddance!) and spread the mixture over half of a brown rice cake, topped with a little agave and cinnamon.  Not quite dinner and definitely not judge worthy but delicious nonetheless.

That would have been all good and well but I didn’t stop there.  I went back for more chocolate and more nuts.  (I mentioned why I don’t keep a lot of chocolate in the house didn’t I?)  Then I went back again…and again…

This morning I decided I needed a healthy ‘reset’ so I made myself this green smoothie with 1 c spinach, 1/2 c mango, 1/2 tbsp flax, a scoop of protein powder and 1 c almond milk.

I also packed along a fairly healthy (yet plentiful) selection of food for work.  The day after a feeding frenzy I can sometimes become an even snackier beast and I’m liable to grab anything in sight if I get too hungry so I wanted to make sure I was well prepared with the good stuff!

 

I took along brown rice pasta (with chicken, broccoli and carrot slaw, cashews and tamari) a salad of romaine, apple, red pepper and shrimp (dressing was 1/2 tbsp olive oil, 1 tbsp lime juice, a little apple cider vinegar and agave) plus a little flax sprinkled on top, and a smoothie for the afternoon (1 c raspberries, 3/4 c almond milk, 1/4 c chocolate coconut water, 1 scoop protein powder and 1/2 tbsp cocoa).

Luckily today wasn’t too busy at work because I was hit mid morning with a rare migraine (maybe from all that sugar last night?).  So I spent most of the day holed up in the office with the lights down low.

Don’t get me wrong, there’s nothing wrong with mindless snacking from time to time and truthfully last night I probably needed it but I also know it’s my body’s way of telling me I need to rest and reset.  So tonight I’m taking it easy, sipping on some peppermint tea and getting to bed early.  (Again! 🙂 ) I don’t want to have to unleash the beast again for awhile!

Kristi

