Tags

, , ,

Good morning! 🙂

How’s everyone’s day going?

Mine started with this:

Puffed millet with bananas and blueberries, banana blueberry smoothie with sunwarrior. (Apparently I’m on a blueberry and banana kick).

And this.  Julie at pbfingers‘ first installment of Blog Talk Tuesdays.  So excited for this!  I’ve been feeling a little overwhelmed with blogging lately, just a lot of frustration with wanting my blog to be as good as I know it can be and knowing it’s not there yet.  It’s nice to see others are in the same boat who share the same questions and concerns and getting advice from someone like Julie who has had experience is so helpful.It’s given me renewed energy to keep pushing forward.  Thanks Julie! 🙂

So lately I’ve been feeling a little extra jiggle in my middle and I’ve been trying to put a finger on why that is.  Yesterday I gave it some thought and a couple of things came to mind:

Cardio.  Ever since I moved out to my parents house and signed up for an extra long drive to and from work (and anywhere else I need to go for that matter, seriously I live out in the boonies) it’s been tougher to stop by the gym on the way home for a quick cardio session.  Truthfully my cardio has been dwindling for awhile.  I know it’s something that I just need to make time for.  Even if I’m unable to stop at the gym, I can definitely pop in a zumba video or go for a run outside in the mornings (Bonus of living in the middle of nowhere: lots of open desert roads to run on with amazing views).  ***Cardio really is key! If I can fit in 4-5 good heart pumping sessions a week I know it will make a huge difference.

Calories.  Let me say right here that I do not count calories nor do I advocate it.  Truthfully I just don’t have the patience.  I’ve kept a food diary in the past and while I do think it helped keep me accountable, even that got tedious after awhile.  I’m strictly talking about being mindful of what I put in my mouth (enter TWSS jokes here).  I’m going to be extra diligent to keep an eye on portion, limit extra calories I really don’t need (such as my recent 3-4 times weekly Starbucks fix) and try to put a ban on late night snacking (a huge pitfall for me)

My motivation:  I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t motivated by wanting to look good, but I also know how much better I feel when I’m eating well and exercising regularly (plus it doesn’t hurt that my clothes feel a little looser too!) I’ve also got a couple events coming up (a bachelorette party this September in Vegas, my friend’s wedding in October) that I want to look my best for.  If I can implement the above strategies I know I’ll start seeing results.

And with that in mind, I’m off to get my cardio on! 🙂

Hope I’ve motivated you do the same!

Kristi

