Tags

,

Hey there! How was your Sunday?  Get in all the last minute things you wanted before the work week starts? I’m actually off tomorrow because I traded days with a coworker so my weekend is just beginning. 🙂

I started off the morning with a smoothie in a bowl.

Last night I was reading through Julie’s blog (pbfingers) and looking through all her smoothie recipes got me craving one of these.

My smoothie had frozen cherries and blueberries, almond milk, and cocoa.  There’s something about eating it with a spoon that makes it feel a little more indulgent.  Normally my a.m. smoothies are gone in a flash but I actually had to slow down and savor this one.  My sister’s boyfriend Alex was over this morning and I *ate* the smoothie while we all chatted in the kitchen.

Lunch was a salad that was inspired by this one that I’d eaten at True Food Kitchen. I used organic spinach and topped it with quinoa, cucumbers, green beans, chick peas and salmon.   For the dressing I combined approximately equal parts of olive oil and rice wine vinegar then added a generous squeeze of lemon (plus a little zest for an extra pop of flavor) about 1/2 tsp oregano and a pinch of sea salt.  I heated the dressing up for about 15 seconds in the microwave before pouring it over the salad (*a key step* – I think it brings out the flavor and it wilts the spinach slightly) .

The finished product:

It was light and fresh and delicious.  Exactly what I felt like having. 🙂

I had been wanting to work on my blog’s design so after lunch I started pouring over graphics and images.  There are so many to choose from and before long they all just started to blend together. I was feeling overwhelmed so I decided to get out and go for a late afternoon hike.  The blog design can wait until tomorrow. 😉

The rest of the evening was spent relaxing with the fam and watching The Next Food Network Star – it’s down to the final three! It was the Iron Chef Challenge – always my favorite. 😀

Now I’m going  to hang out with my sister for a bit and watch Keeping Up With the Kardashians.  Tomorrow, with any luck, the blog is going to be getting a little work done. 😉

Night!

Kristi

