Tags

, ,

Hey! How was everyone’s day? 🙂

I had a pretty busy one. I had Groupon for a chemical peel at North Scottsdale Skin and Laser Clinic that was about to expire so this afternoon I decided to cash in.  Let me be clear here: I’m a total skin treatment novice. My skin care regimen basically consists of washing my face when I think of it (as embarrassing as that is to admit). I’m fairly fortunate that I have pretty even tempered skin but let’s face it, I’m getting older and I can’t ignore my skin forever. My friend Melissa has raved about chemical peels in the past and she’s the one who alerted me when this deal popped up.

The treatment covered by my Groupon was a “lunch-hour” peel (gentle enough that you can run out, have one done on your lunch hour, and run back to work without anyone noticing). The idea behind a chemical peel is to replace old skin layers with new ones, rejuvenating the skin. The technician was friendly and talked me through it (I told her I was a newbie). She asked me several times whether I was OK and had me rate my discomfort on a scale of 1-10 (I gave it about a 2 – not bad at all!) The whole procedure took less than 10 minutes. Afterward I got suckered into buying a couple skincare products.

A tinted sunscreen moisturizer (can always use more of this in AZ)

And a medical grade topical bleach cream

I had been looking for a product to treat a couple scars I have on my arms and the doctor on staff was nice enough to peek at them and offer some advice. The cream was pricey (around $85) but I reasoned I didn’t have to pay an office visit and if it reduces the appearance of my scars (*hopefully* before my friend’s wedding in October) then it’s worth it.

Post peel:

(I snapped this picture with my shades on because it felt like the celeb thing to do ;))

Coincidentally I had plans to meet Melissa for dinner that evening, (she had assured me I wouldn’t look like a leper).  We dined at The Greene House which is a Fox Restaurant. I ordered the arugula salad (arugula, grapes, strawberries, walnuts and goat cheese – I also added chicken – sorry no pic!). I strayed a little from my cleanse (the grapes, strawberries and goat cheese are no-no’s) but it was delicious and I didn’t care. I think this time around I’m looking at the program as more of a healthy reset and hoping for it to get me back on track to eating more nourishing foods and being more mindful of what my body actually needs (versus mindless snacking). And my body was craving this salad! 😀

It was great catching up with Melissa. She’s a friend from veterinary school and so we got to talk about fun work cases and gross stuff that would probably ruin other people’s appetites over dinner. 😉 I had been looking forward to getting together with Melissa but truthfully I had been a little stressed that I was trying to jam too much into my day off. I forgotten how nice it is to sit and have a relaxing dinner with one of my good friends. I left feeling less stressed than I’d felt all day. (Side note: Melissa thought my skin looked radiant :))

Two things that made my day:

1. In between my peel and dinner with Melissa I skyped with my best friend Erin at Barnes and Noble and we booked a hotel in Santa Barbara for our annual girl’s trip. An ocean view suite, with free wi-fi and a balcony and it was the least expensive of our options?? – Yes please!!! 🙂

2. While at B&N, a random guy introduced himself and asked for my number (and mind you this was post-peel, no make-up on). Maybe there’s something to the peel after all! 😉

Now I’m up way too late for the second night in a row so it’s time to get to bed or tomorrow’s going to be a loooooong one.

Good night! 🙂

Kristi

Have you ever had a chemical peel? If so, how was your experience? Do you have any favorite skin care products? Clearly I don’t (yet!) 🙂

