Tags

, ,

Hey did everyone have a great Saturday? πŸ™‚

I sure did. I started off with a quick cardio session (tried the fitnessista’s August cardio workout – holy moly) and then popped over for a session with my trainer. We did a mostly weights-free workout (lots of squats, lunges and pushups using body weight only) and I was a little skeptical that it was going to do much but I’m actually feeling it today. Kenny did the workout with me which I always love. Nothing like seeing your workout make your trainer sweat too! πŸ™‚

After the gym it was poolΒ time. I went back to my bro’s house and he and I laid around poolside for a few hours. I didn’t actually get in the water (I was only in it for the sun) but it was relaxing nonetheless.

We passed the time by playing a game where you name a celebrity and then go back and forth trying to list all the movies they’ve been in. It’s harder than you think and you end up digging some really obscure ones out of your memory bank (anyone remember Brad Pitt in Johnny Suede?)

image source

I also got to do a little catching up with an old friend. πŸ˜‰

 

After, we headed out to dinner with the fam. It’s my sister’s last weekend before she moves to San Diego for grad school so we were getting together for a goodbye meal.

But first I put together a little care package for my sis.

Going into the mix:

Chance by Chanel – my sis had been wanting this perfume for awhile…

Luna bar minis. (Her current fave)

And a cute sports bra from Target. It’s hard to tell from this pic but it’s actually neon yellow. I swear my sister is the only person who actually looks good in this color.

And viola – the finished product. πŸ™‚

A little fun fact: after I put this together my brother snuck in a random local magazine we’d picked up at lunch with Bret Michaels on the cover (kind of an inside joke) – cause my family likes to do things like that. πŸ˜‰

Dinner was at TK’s Urban Tavern. My mom works with the owner’s wife which is how she heard about the restaurant. The food was simple and fresh and delicious.

**Disclaimer: I deviated a bit from the cleanse last night (it was a celebration after all) but I still managed to keep it pretty tame. πŸ™‚

I ordered a grilled shrimp salad that came with black and white quinoa :), tomato basil and lemon and sipped on a glass of chardonnay.

I loved this salad. πŸ™‚

The movie naming game continued into dinner (I was surprised at how good my Dad was at it!) and afterward everyone decided to order dessert. I actually started the trend by asking to see the dessert menu (I always check out the dessert menu) but I didn’t end up ordering anything. Don’t get me wrong, I fully would have belly’d up and ordered something of my own but nothing that really appealed to me. There were options that sounded ok (I mean it was dessert after all) but nothing life-changing so i decided to abstain. I did, however, have a bite of each of these:

Chocolate cake and vanilla bean ice cream.Β (Yum!)

Grilled angel food cake (my sis’s pick)

After dinner, Nance and I went back to my brother’s house to watch a move. We rented Due Date with Robert Downey Jr. and Zach Galifianakis. Another Redbox flop in my opinion, but I think my brother and sister found it pretty entertaining.

All in all a fun and relaxing day. πŸ™‚

Hope you all are having a great weekend!

Kristi

