Tags

Hey there! ๐Ÿ™‚

Coming at ya from Houston!

Which means I survived my 3 am wakeup call. ๐Ÿ˜‰

I’m currently en route to Philly and things are going pretty smoothly so far.ย  I managed to sleep throughout the entire first leg of my trip (Phoenix to Houston) and I’m surprised I’ve actually got a little spunk right now

Thanks in part to this.

Iced black soy tea latte w/ sf hazelnut. ๐Ÿ™‚

Breakfast today came early.

Brown rice cake w/ sunflower butter.

Since It’s a traveling sort of day I though I’d stick with the theme and share with you the things I absolutely cannot travel without.

Here are all my must haves:

–ย Water *** of primo importance

I drink a lot of water anyway but flying especially is taxing on your body (hello, jetlag) and I rely on plenty of water to keep me hydrated and help keep my energy up. I usually buy the biggest bottle I can find at the terminal (now that the days of bringing your own water are long gone) and still end up taking advantage of the in-flight drink service for refills. Yes, I know this means extra trips to the ladies room (much to the dismay of my travel companions) but I feel it’s definitely worth it. There’s nothing worse than arriving at your destination dehydrated.

– Snacks – and lots of them!

I never like to leave my next meal to chance, especially with pricey airport food (although healthy meal options are becoming more and more available even on in-flight menus) so I’m always sure to pack plenty of healthy snackng options. Some I’ve got with me right now: a variety of lara bars (always easy), a pink lady apple, cashews and roasted salted peas (if I’m craving something salty ;))

– Reading material.

Usually I’ll pack along at least a couple magazines and whatever book I’m currently reading (or more likely, have been wanting to get around to reading).ย  I usually end up putting a bigger dent in the magazines. I view traveling as a good opportunity to relax and give my mind a little break so I often enjoy leafing through something pretty light.ย  Shape and Cosmo are my faves ๐Ÿ™‚

– My journal.

I have kept a journal regularly for the past year or so although my busy schedule doesn’t always allow for me to write in it as often as I’d like. Traveling (especially flying, when I’m stuck for hours without the distraction of electronics or to-do lists) is a good chance to catch up on a little reflecting. (Side note: is it strange that I have to be literally trapped on a plane to feel like I have some down time?)

– Tea

A few years ago I started getting into the habit of bringing tea along on trips. I don’t always take advantage of it but if the mood strikes I’ll ask the flight attendant for a cup of hot water and throw in my own tea bag. It’s nice to be able to have a warm comforting cup of tea on the fly (pun intended ๐Ÿ™‚ ). Bonus: I usually replenish my stash for the next trip from the complimentary offering in my hotel room and it’s a fun reminder of places I’ve visited. ๐Ÿ™‚

Well there you have it – my travel necessities!

I’m off to do a little relaxing for the next few hours.

Kicking back a shot of o.j. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Next stop Philly! ๐Ÿ™‚

Kristi

What are your *must haves* for traveling? I’d love to hear what everyone else can’t do without!

