Tags

Hey guys, how’s it going?

Just winding down a bit over here. I’d love to provide you with some little tidbit of inspiration this evening or exciting details from my day but the truth is I’m feeling a little blah today. Ok a lot blah.

I slept in this morning (much needed after a weekend of traveling and excitement) and headed over to my trainer’s after hurriedly downing a breakfast smoothie. My trainer Kenny could tell I was off today. We usually chat happily back and forth but this morning I quietly struggled through the circuit training workout he’d planned for me. (Props to Kenny – he absolutely knows when I need my quiet time during a session so he just sit back and let me do my thing for the most part though he did give me a couple big bear hugs – I love my trainer :))

The goal was to head to the gym and do some cardio after our session but suspicious that if he let me leave I might just head call it quits and home Kenny offered to let me stay and run on his treadmill (he’s sly like that). I logged a little over 2.5 miles in 30 minutes. Not bad, not great, just blah. 

I’d planned on heading over to my brother’s (since my parents’ place is a 45 minute drive away) to shower and work on a few things before my afternoon appointment (updating my blog, adding the blogs of some of the new friends I’d met at HLS over the weekend to my google reader, managing my budget *bigtime blah* etc)

Instead I decided to have lunch with my mom. We went back to TK’s Urban Kitchen (where we’d eaten for my sister’s farewell dinner a couple of weekends ago).

I opted for the grilled salmon salad (sans tomatoes as they’re not on the Clean Program).

Although the salad was simple it was definitely anything but blah. 

My mom listened while I vented a little about some frustration over my friend’s upcoming bachelorette party. Don’t get me wrong, I love my friend and I’m excited to celebrate for her wedding but why does planning for bachelorette parties always seem so hectic?

After lunch my mom offered to run to Trader Joe’s to pick up a few groceries for me since I was heading back to have my car emissions tested for the second time after my appointment and I didn’t my want food sitting in the hot car. Sometimes my mom’s pretty great like that. 🙂

It’s hard to say exactly what’s getting me down, it’s likely a combination of things: a lack of sleep and exercise, the stress and feeling of being in limbo in a temporary living situation, money woes, beating myself up for not having it all together and comparing myself to others who seem to have it all figured out.

I know there’s no magic recipe for pulling myself out of a funk like this but rather it just takes time and usually a series of small wins before I’m back on track and feeling like myself again. I know that all I need to do is get back in a more positive frame of mind. So at the risk of sounding cheesy, from here on out I’m going to start looking on the bright side. For starters, my car passed emissions this time. 🙂

(If that’s not good news then I don’t know what is).

I’m going to pack up some lunch for tomorrow and turn in a little early.

Night! 🙂

Kristi

What little tricks do you use to pick yourself up when you’re in a funk? I spend a little time snuggling with my dogs or schedule a movie or lunch date with a friend 🙂

