Hey! How’s everyone’s day going? šŸ™‚

I started off the morning with a mango chia smoothie (I’ve been trying to find more uses for chia. I bought a package of Bob’s Red Mill Chia Seeds a few months ago and it’s pretty much been sitting in the pantry. I made some chia seed pudding and although the flavor was good, the texture was off to me. I’m kind of weird about texture and it was a little too gelatin-y for my liking. So I decided to try and experiment with using more chia in my smoothies. The mango chia was ok, not great.

I had a session with my trainer Kenny. We did a total body workout that included 20 minutes of abs – yes, 20 minutes of abs. After, I headed over to the gym for some long overdue cardio. I hopped on the treadmill for a long slow run while watching the hurricane coverage.

(Side note: Does anyone else think the reporter is totally stylin’? :))

It felt so nice to just run at a leisurely pace and not worry about having to be anywhere. Usually when I run I try and push myself and end up shuffling through my iPod for fast paced songs that will keep me motivated. Today I just let it play and enjoyed running to some slower paced tunes from The Goo Goo Dolls and Bob Marley. It was a nice change of pace.

I knew I’d be out and about after the gym and I didn’t want to miss a chance to refuel after my long workout. I wanted something portable that could also withstand being left in the 115 degree heat while my car sat at the gym.

Solution:

I grabbed this packet of Barney Butter that I’d received last weekend at the Healthy Living Summit along with a rice cake I’d stuffed in my purse. The Barney Butter was inconspicuous enough that I could take it into the gym with me and the rice cake held up in the heat.

Problem solved. šŸ™‚

I also snacked on some more roasted salted peas (can we say addicted?) as I shopped around Trader Joe’s.

I’d been feeling a little bored lately with my food choices so I knew I needed to switch things up. This lovely multicolor mix of broccoli and cauliflower caught my eye.

I immediately had big plans for these babies. šŸ˜‰

I came home and roasted them up along with some other veggies (zucchini, butternut squash, brussels sprouts – I picked the small ones out of the bunch so the veggies would all cook fairly evenly – plus some chickpeas).

And tossed it all into a big salad.

A little garlic gold (also courtesy of HLS) and some TJ’s Goddess Dressing.

Perfection.

After I devoured my veggies I vegged on the couch for a little while. When my sweet tooth kicked in (as it almost always does) I tried my hand at another chia smoothie creation.

Chocolate cherry chia smoothie.

1 c frozen cherries, 1 c unsweetened almond milk, 1 scoop chocolate protein powder (I used sun warrior) 1 tsp raw cocoa powder (to make it extra chocolatey), 2 tsp chia seeds.

This combo was a winner. šŸ™‚

I’m off to meet my friends Hillary and Mark for dinner.

Have a great night! šŸ™‚

Kristi

