Tags

,

Hello there! 🙂

Well it seems as though the weekend got away from me! 🙂  Here’s what’s been going on:

Saturday night with Hillary (sans Mark, only the girlies ;)) was a great time. We had a chance to catch up on each other’s lives and have some much needed girl talk. Definitely need to do this more often. 🙂

Sunday morning I took it easy with a pineapple chia smoothie

(1 c frozen pineapple, 1 c almond milk, 1 tsp chia seed -plus a little extra to sprinkle on top – 1 scoop vanilla protein powder and a pinch of cinnamon)

And a couple amazeballz

(I made these for my dad and he is loving them as a post workout snack. I followed fitnessista’s basic recipe but used chocolate protein powder and added organic coffee extract for an extra kick. They were mighty good :))

Sunday evening I met up with an old friend from school and we saw One Day. The movie follows two characters (best friends, opposite sex) who weave in and out of each other’s lives at important times over a 20 year timespan becoming romantically involved off and on but never seem to quite get it right. It was good but sad and it kind of struck a chord with me because it reminded me of one of my past relationships.

Speaking of relationships…I went on a double date with the B&N guy (meaning two dates in less than 24 hours). We had dinner Sunday night as planned and then met up for a hike this morning. Would make for a nice little whilrwind romance story except I don’t think there’s a romance to be had here. Better luck next time. 😉

Which brings me to today.

Breakfast:

Blueberry smoothie to-go. (Fuel for my morning hike 🙂 )

Then I had an intense session with my trainer Kenny. (I’m pretty sure he’s trying to kill me). He did, however, help me devise a flexible two week workout plan that goes something like this:

WEEK ONE:

Monday: training Session (+cardio)

Tuesday: training session (cardio optional)

Wednesday: rest day (yoga)

Thursday: cardio

Friday: cardio

Saturday: rest or light activity ***These are Saturdays I work and I’m usually beat after a long week

Sunday: weights on my own +/- cardio

WEEK TWO:

Monday: cardio

Tuesday: training session

Wednesday: rest (yoga)

Thursday: rest ***This is my surgery day at work so my body is being taxed already

Friday: cardio

Saturday: training session

Sunday: cardio

I like that the schedule is flexible so the rest days and cardio days can be flip-flopped which is nice because I have some traveling coming up over the next few months. I feel good having a plan to work with that also allows for some rest days. If they’re scheduled I won’t feel so guilty about taking them. 😉 A scheduled *rest day* is not a bad philosophy to have for life in general come to think of it…

After our session I stopped by Sunflower Market to pick up some groceries. I replenished my kombucha stash (I need a little kombucha in m life :)), picked up some nutritional yeast which I’ve been dying to try and some raw organic masala chai cookies. 🙂

Lunch was a salmon filet with roasted butternut squash and a yummy quinoa recipe I came up with using the nutritional yeast I’d purchased.

Spicy Creamy “Cheesy” Quinoa

Cook 1 c quinoa to package directions. When quinoa is nearly done (or the quinoa equivalent of ‘al dente’), add 1/4 c almond milk (or milk of your choice) and simmer for about 2 minutes (quinoa should take on a creamy texture). Then add 2 heaping spoonfuls of your favorite hummus (I used a jalapeno cilantro flavor which is why this is the ‘spicy’ version), a pinch of salt and 2 teaspoons nutritional yeast (provides the ‘cheesy’ taste. Give it all a big stir and remove from heat. Sprinkle a little extra nutritional yeast on top for extra flavor and serve immediately (although I *imagine* it still tastes pretty good right out of the pot an hour or so later… 😉 )

Phew! I think we’re all caught up now. 🙂 I’m off to work on a little writing!

See you a little later on tonight.

(Expect the masala chai cookies to make an appearance ;))

Kristi

Did you ever have a movie that reminded you of one of your relationships? And now for the cheesy part 🙂 How did it make you feel?

 

 

 

 

