Tags

, ,

Hey all! 🙂

Back from the salon and I’m sporting the ombré
.

source

No it doesn’t look like that.

When I told my sister I was thinking of going ombré she said it reminded her of a sombrero. And for some reason when I say it in my head I always want to say ombre olé! So there you go. 🙂

(For the record, my stylist’s assistant pronounced it more like ahm-bre  than ohm-bre and I think that’s what I’m going with from now on)

As I mentioned before, I was a little apprehensive about telling Nick I wanted to change up my style. Since it had taken us years to transform my hair from short, damaged and choppy to long and healthy I expected some resistance from him. I was prepared to defend my position (taking a break from processing and growing out my roots would be healthier right?)

His response: “Ok.”

Me: “Ok? Is that it? Am I going to freak out?”

Nick: “Maybe.”

As he explained to me what he was going to do and started painting color onto my roots (a #6, or a shade lighter than my natural color) I have to admit I was screaming a little bit on the inside. Did I accurately explain to Nick that I wanted this to be a gradual and subtle change? Would it be an easy fix if I hated it? But it was already too late. The color was on and I just had to buckle up and hold on for the ride.

I was being hair hijacked.

Now let me back up…I absolutely 100% trust Nick for the miracles he has worked with my hair. (His assistant calls him the *hair-apist*). In fact, when I showed him this original picture of what I had in mind he told me if he did that to my hair I’d have a stroke.

source

Lovely on Giuliana, too extreme for me. And Nick knows it.

So I decided to try and relax a little and let my hairapist do his magic. Seeing me eye my roots in the mirror, Nick’s assistant assured me the color wouldn’t turn out as dark as it looked. I took a deep breath.

As he was drying my hair and it was getting lighter and lighter I slowly recovered from my shock and I started drilling Nick with questions.

Me: “Can I still use the same shampoo? How hard will it be to go back to my original color? Is there anything special I need to do in the sun?”

Nick: “Yeah, have fun with it.”

Have fun with it.  What a concept. 🙂

When all was said and done it was a fairly subtle change and I felt pretty happy with it, at least under the bright salon lights (why does your hair always look different at the salon?)

The verdict?

I think it’s too early to tell.  At home it looked a little darker and more ashy (I prefer warmer tones) but I’m going to give it a little time. Like anything else it’s an adjustment.

If I decide to keep it up we’ll have to keep growing out the roots. We also talked about running a few blond streaks through just to lighten it up and frame my face. I think it will take some playing around with and getting used to but I’m glad I took the plunge. After all it’s not life or death it’s only hair.

And you gotta have a little fun with it every now and then right? 😉

source

Olé! 🙂

Kristi

