Tags

, , , ,

In case last night’s brownie carnage left any room for doubt, yesterday marked the official end of my cleanse.

It was a little more drawn out than I had originally planned and there were a few more cheats than I’d intended but overall it was a very good experience and served as a nice, healthy reset which is exactly what I was looking for.

As I mentioned before, my first time on the Clean Program I purchased the kit and stuck to the regimen 100%. This time around…not so much. 🙂 My first cleanse was great for so many reasons but this time around it was definitely more of a learning experience.

Generally speaking, I think I manage to eat pretty healthy 90-95% of the time but I do tend to have an all-or-nothing mentality at times. Sometimes I feel like I need to adhere to strict rules or I won’t have the will to reel myself in if I do indulge. The fact that I gave into cheating on this cleanse and then was able to turn right around and get back on track shows me that I have the willpower to indulge just a little (and fully enjoy it) and then decide that I’ve had enough and move on. And there were plenty of times on the cleanse that I passed up treats entirely (even if I didn’t blog about it!). While I may cleanse again in the future, my greater goal is to take some of the things that I’ve learned on this program (along with a few other tricks I already had up my sleeve) and incorporate them into a long term healthy lifestyle.

Things I plan to incorporate:

Drink more smoothies (if that’s possible) and juices. I already drink a ton of smoothies but being on the cleanse forced me to switch up my usual go-to smoothie recipes and think outside the box a little (or blender, as the case may be). 🙂

More veggies. I tend to gravitate more toward fruits but I love it when my sweet tooth is in check and I actually crave veggies and giant salads.

Daily supplements (still trying to figure out which ones to incorporate longterm (multivitamin for sure and possibly a probiotic?) and which to use occasionally (digestive enzymes?) If anybody has any recommendations I’m all ears. 🙂

Listening to myself and paying attention when I reach for food as to whether I’m truly hungry or if I’m just tired or stressed (and trying to find a better solution if that’s the case).

Keeping the 12 hour window between dinner and breakfast most of the time (or at least try to be mindful of late night snacking which has been a big problem for me in the past)

Again, I can’t recommend this program enough, whether as a healthy reset (as I used it) or to expose yourself to a new way of eating, as it did for my parents. For the record, my dad lost stubborn belly weight he’s been trying get rid of for years and my mom’s skin is glowing.

That being said, now that I’m off the cleanse and starting to incorporate some previously restricted food items into my diet, here are some favorites that I’m very excited to have back in my life (in no particular order):

1. Bananas

2. OATS!

3. Peanut buttah

4. Eggs

5. Ezekiel bread (oh who are we kidding? Ezekiel bread french toast :))

Wishing you happy healthy eating! 🙂

Kristi

