Tags

, ,

Morning friends!:) Happy weekend! (well at least it’s the start of mine…)

This morning I slept in (glorious), caught up on a little blog reading (added some new subscriptions to my google reader that I’m very excited about – nutritionella and eating bird food) and made this ‘PB&J’ smoothie.

I used 1 scoop protein powder, 1 1/4 c mixed frozen berries (mine had raspberries, blueberries and blackberries), 1 c almond milk (plus a little extra for desired consistency), 1/2 tsp cocoa powder (optional), a little cinnamon, stevia and way too much sunflower seed butter (I used two heaping spoonfuls)

It was wonderfully thick and rich and delicious. I justified the extra sunflower butter since I’ve got a weights workout on the schedule today (not quite sure how that correlates but in my mind it made sense ;)).

Last night the whole fam got together for dinner at Benihanaย (well minus my sisters anyway). My brother Dan had a friend in town from Miami and wanted everyone to go out. I love teppanyaki restaurants for the experience (food and entertainment all in one? I’ll take it!) but also for the fact that the food is generally pretty simple and fresh.

I ordered a white peach sangria.

It was refreshing and not too sweet.

And the hibachi shrimp (sans rice). Their fried rice is delicious and actually one of my favorites but it’s already an insane amount of food and I didn’t want to overdo it.

As usual, dinner was served with an onion soup (not pictured), and signature salad.

I always want to try and recreate this salad dressing, kind of like a thousand island but thinner. So good!

As usual, the place was hopping on a Saturday night and to apologize for the wait our server offered us some sushi on the house.

Don’t mind if I do ๐Ÿ˜‰

Once the grill got fired up we were served a littleย shrimp ‘appetizer.’ I of course had already ordered the shrimp but I would never say no to extra. ๐Ÿ™‚

Once our teppanyaki chef got going, things really started heating up.

 

I wish I had this guy’s kitchen skills.

And of course some tricks.

And finally the main course.

A perfect plate. ๐Ÿ™‚

I love this type of environment because everyone really loosens up and has a great time. I may or may not have even done a sake bomb.

๐Ÿ˜‰

Overall, a very good time.

Well I’m off for a hike and then who knows? Hope you’re all having a great holiday weekend! ๐Ÿ™‚

Eddy Update:ย So far so good! Things are moving right along. ๐Ÿ™‚ Keep the good thoughts coming!!

See you all later!

Kristi

