Tags

Good morning! How is everyone? 🙂

Things have been a little bit of a whirlwind over here.

Eddy ended up having surgery on Tuesday. After doing well all weekend, he wasn’t quite himself Tuesday morning. I took him in for a repeat xray to find his stomach was still completely full. A quick barium study showed that liquid was moving past all the foreign material but that stuff wasn’t going anywhere. So off to surgery we went.

At first I was really nervous and asked one of the other vets to do the surgery. After a few deep breaths though I decided I could tackle it (my coworker was nice enough to scrub in to give me a hand and some moral support :)) I’m glad we went in when we did because his stomach was packed full of bedding material. Surgery was uneventful. The hardest part for me was watching him wake up and recover from anesthesia. It gives me a new appreciation for what my clients go though when their pets are in the hospital.

After surgery he looked like this:

My poor baby. 😦

He stayed overnight in the hospital and I brought him home with me after work last night. Everyone was glad to see him.

Since then he’s mostly been resting, taking his meds and eating a little. It’s been a rough couple of days but I’m glad to have him back at home.

This morning I’m off to run a couple errands and an appointment I had to reschedule from Tuesday then it’s back home to tend to my baby and get packing for Vegas. I am a little worried to leave him so soon after surgery but my parents will be keeping a close eye on him and he’s going to be spending a lot of time resting up anyway.

Breakfast this morning was a little bit of a dilemma for me. I usually wake up knowing exactly what I want to eat but this morning I went back and forth for awhile until I finally settled on this:

A bowl of Fitnessista’s breakfast cookie dough cereal. Hit the spot. 🙂

Well I’m off to do my thing so I can get home quick.

See you guys in a bit!

Kristi

Thanks so much to everyone who sent good thoughts for Eddy! This is the most serious illness any one of my pets has had to go through so far (aside from when my iguana had pancreatitis, but that’s a story for another post ;)) It gives me so much more appreciation for what my clients go through with their babies. Have you ever had to hospitalize your pet for a serious illness or surgery?

 

