Tags

,

Hey how are ya?

Hope everyone’s day is off to a great start. 🙂

I started off the morning with a smoothie in a bowl.

It had 1/2 a frozen banana, frozen blueberries, almond butter, cocoa, and a handful of spinach. It was fantastic. 🙂

I had a session with my trainer Kenny this morning. We did a total body weights workout + mixed in some cardio (running on the treadmill) then sat down to discuss my schedule for the next few weeks.

Since I’m going to be traveling a lot over the next month I’m going to have to modify my training regimen a little. Luckily Kenny was more than willing to accommodate. For the next month, instead of our usual twice weekly sessions I’ll be seeing Kenny just once a week which means I’m going to have to be extra diligent about keeping up with weights workouts on my own. I’ve been doing a little better with that lately so I’m not too worried. Plus it will help open up a little more time for me to start training for my half marathon in December. And breaking up my sessions this way ensures that my wallet doesn’t take such a big hit (also helpful since traveling is expensive).

Over the next month or so I’m also going to be loosely following an eating plan that Kenny gave me. I say ‘loosely’ because as I mentioned I’ll be traveling a lot over the next month, including a girls’ trip and a wedding so it won’t be entirely feasible for me to stick to the plan 100 %. Because there will be wine. And there will be cake. And I fully plan to partake in that. 🙂

.After our session this morning I headed to the grocery store to pick up some food for the week. As per Kenny’s plan I picked up plenty of fresh fruits, veggies and hummus among other items.

As you may know if you’ve been following along, I’m fresh off a recent detox (minus a couple weekends of traveling, although I managed to eat pretty healthfully in Vegas I must say) and although I have plenty of good things to say about it (which you can read about here). I will say I am looking forward to adding back in more variety.( My trainer’s program isn’t actually a far cry from what’s recommended on the Clean Program’s maintenance plan).

Here are a few of the foods I’m excited about:

Food for Life brown rice tortillas. I’ve been wanting to try these for awhile. i’m dreaming of pairing one with sunflower butter and this:

Ahh bananas, how I’ve missed thee! I’ve actually been back to eating bananas for about a week now but this was my first time actually buying them post-cleanse. 🙂

Yogi chai rooibos tea. I’ve been craving chai tea lately (maybe because fall is fast approaching?) and I thought this combination sounded interesting. Rooibos (pronounced roy-bos) is an African tea whose leaves are oxidized to produce the reddish-brown color from which it’s name is derived. It has a high level of antioxidants and potential immune-boosting effects (wikipedia). I’ve had the vanilla rooibos at Starbucks a few times and I’m excited to try this one! 🙂

Lunch was a salad from Whole Foods:

This baby had mixed organic greens, chick peas, grilled eggplant and zucchini, golden beats, peas and a little southwest quinoa salad. I added a drizzle of balsalmic for extra flavor.

And *dessert*:

A brown rice cake with almond butter.

I have an appointment this afternoon so rather than trek all the way back to my parents’ place I decided to hang out at my brother’s. Since I came from the gym I had to shower here and I forgot my shower supplies so I had to use my brother’s shampoo (I had my eyes clenched as I lathered thinking of the potential damage on my brazillian blowout). Luckily I found an old bottle of conditioner I’d left from when I lived here but I was out of luck in the shower gel department, so if I smell like *Old Spice* you know why. 😉 Just another reason why I need to get on the house search ASAP.

I’m off to my appointment! On the menu for tonight: laundry (blah) and budgeting (yikes!) No fun but it has to be done.

See you later!

Kristi

