Tags

, ,

Good morning!

Hope everyone’s having a relaxing Sunday. I know I had a hard time peeling myself out of bed this morning. ๐Ÿ™‚

As suspected, last night my mom and I did cook up a feast. Apparently the guy at the seafood counter at Costco told her the lobster tail she purchased would be perfect for a surf & turf style meal for two people. She suggested we serve it alongside some salmon burgers which I told her wouldn’t really be surf & turf but it did actually sound pretty good and behold,ย surf & surf was born. ๐Ÿ˜‰

We cooked up two salmon burgers (also from Costco) per package directions, broiled this little guy

silced him in half and served him atop a salmon burger and pile of asparagus.

It was delicious. ๐Ÿ™‚

A feast indeed!

We had lemon butter and cocktail sauce for dipping. We watched Something Borrowed (cute!) and happily enjoyed our dinner and probably way too much popcorn.

We snacked through nearly two entire bags and I probably would have kept going if my mom hadn’t been the voice of reason and made me put it away. Crave Canyon kettlecorn is probably now on my list of foods I’m forbidden to buy unless I’m prepared to go through the whole package. This is some seroiuslyย good popcorn.

It was really nice to have a good *girl’s night* with my mom. We both decided we were too tired for Get Him to the Greek (maybe a good thing??) ๐Ÿ™‚

This morning I had a blueberry smoothie (1 c frozen blueberries, 1 c almond milk, 1 scoop chocolate protein powder + a little extra cocoa, handful of spinach) and an oatmeal and egg white *pancake*

ย The pancake was alright. It was on my trainer’s meal plan and I did a quick google search and went with the first recipe I saw. I used 1/4 c oats, 3 egg whites, 1/2 packet of stevia and a pinch of cinnamon (+ extra on top). The taste was alright but the texture seemed off. I may have to play around with the recipe a little because I do like the concept (if anyone has any recipes out there let me know!)

I had planned on going for a long run but decided against it. For starters since I’d slept in it was already approaching 90 degrees outside (not horrible but not ideal), and my feet have been hurting a lot lately (currently on the hunt for some new work and running shoes). I wanted to be careful not to just be giving in to excuses and I actually did set out on my run as planned but after a few minutes I just felt mentally and physically drained (and running usually invigorates me) so I decided to give my body what it needs – some rest.

I do plan to get in a light weights workout later this afternoon but I’m going to just stick to upper body and take it easy on the feet. ๐Ÿ™‚

My *get motivated to run* game plan for the week is:

Buy some new running shoes

Buy some new work shoes (or at least new inserts for the old ones I’ve been wearing for awhile now)

Download a running ap for my phone so I can track my mileage (done!)

Sync my new iPhone with my computer so I can get my playlists back (I’ve been putting this off since i got a new phone last weekend but I really need my running music!)

Well I’m off to take it easy for a bit. Excited for drybar and dinner with Melissa tonight!

Kristi

Question: What are your tricks for getting motivated to run when you’re not feeling it? Any recommendations for good work shoes? I need a good comfy pair of dress shoes (flats ok). I’m on my feet A LOT and I have a feeling this is my main problem when it comes to my pain.

 

