Tags

, , ,

I had a date tonight…

and I think we’ll be seeing each other again 🙂

As I mentioned yesterday, my friend Melissa and I had purchased groupons for drybar a relatively new blowdry bar at the Scottsdale Quarter (locations also in CA, TX and NYC). We met up at the *bar* tonight for a little pre-dinner primping.

Upon entering the salon, we were immediately greeted with a sweet treat.

The atmosphere was chic and the staff was friendly and welcoming offering flavored water, wine and champagne.

I sipped on complimentary cucumber water while I perused the menu.

There was a list of styles with cocktail names like *manhattan* (blown out smooth and flat ironed straight) and *mai tai* (a wavy, beachy look). I elected to have my hair done *straight up* which is simple and straight, pretty much like it sounds (through I did add a little flip at the end).

With my order placed, my stylist led me to the back of the bar where I received a shampoo, conditioning treatment and the scalp and neck massage I’ve been missing all my life.

{where it all starts}

{where the transformation takes place}

My stylist was friendly and attentive, making sure I was 100% happy with my hair before she laid her tools down. She even gave me some tips for getting volume in my roots at home (my hair is super fine and tends to lay pretty flat).

Amy, the Scottsdale location’s operating partner, gave me a recent marie claire article reviewing the blowdry bar trend to read while my stylist worked on my hair. The article talked about the psychological effect of a woman’s hair on her mood and how just having a good hair day can really boost confidence (hence the growing appeal of these salons).

And I have to agree that after my blowout both my roots and my mood were lifted.

{one happy girl}

There’s just something so lovely and almost comforting about having someone else tend to your hair. At least I know that’s one reason I love going to the salon. And now it’s nice to know there’s a place I can go whenever I need a little pick-me-up and extra pampering in between salon visits.

I’ll definitely be going back. 🙂

Kristi

Question: What’s your favorite part of a trip to the salon? For me it’s definitely getting my hair dried. My hair takes forever to dry and having someone else do it always feels like such a luxury. 🙂

