Tags

, , , ,

Hey! Hope everyone’s having a great Tuesday so far. 🙂

I’m a little behind on the San Diego uptdates. I was a little worn out  from all of the weekend’s shenanigans. 

I got home from the airport late last night and about all I had the energy to do was curl up with a chicken-veggie-hummus bowl and catch up on Dancing With the Stars (So many fun performances last night! Loved Maksim and Hope’s Toy Story fox trot but I’m still David Arquette’s biggest fan ;)).

After recouping from our morning run my sis and I decided to take San Diego by storm.

We had rooftop drink to kick off the night.

Plus a few failed timed picture attempts.

(no idea what I was looking at)

First stop was Kansas City Barbecue the where Top Gun was filmed to snap a piano pic from the ‘Great Balls of Fire’ scene.

Then there was sushi..

and karaoke

(directions from a concierge to the nearest karaoke bar).

It was a fun night out. We used to go to San Diego in the summer all the time as kids but being there as an adult definitely has it’s perks. 😉

Monday morning we headed to the Brickyard for breakfast.

I ordered the breakfast burrito (veggie) which I ate deconstructed and smothered in salsa.

My dining partner and I snapped pics of one another.

After breakfast we grabbed soy pumpkin spice lattes from Starbucks (my first of the season – it was worth the wait :)) and headed to La Jolla to sightsee and wander around the shops.

We popped over to the beautiful La Valencia hotel for a quick photo op…

and one of the hotel staff was kind enough to take us to the Sky Room at the top of the hotel for the best backdrop.

The view from the top

Lunch was at the Harbor House in Seaport Village.

It was fun because it brought back memories of being there when we were younger on family vacations. We both ordered the grilled mahi taco and soup combo.

Nance went with clam chowder and I decided to try the ‘she crab’ soup, a creamy blue crab soup served with a shot of sherry on the side.

I usually try to stick with broth-y versus rich and creamy soups but this was delicious. One small cup was definitely the perfect amount though.

After lunch we continued our trip down memory lane hitting up another old favorite family vacation stop.

Anthony’s is *the place* we probably used to eat every time we came to San Diego as kids. The food comes served in cute little ‘boats’ and you can sit right out along the water and watch the sea gulls fly by. They used to steal our french fries. 🙂

It was great hanging out with my sister in all our old vacation spots and getting to see a whole new side of San Diego. It was a fun weekend. I’m seeing more San Diego in my future. 🙂

See you all later!

Kristi

Did your family have a *usual* vacation spot when you were younger? Ours was definitely San Diego. We would go nearly every summer, hit up the same spots year after year (Ocean Beach, Seaport Village, La Jolla, I”m pretty sure we even stayed at the same hotel!)

 

 

