Hey there – just checking in. 🙂

How’s everyone’s week going so far?

Mine has been pretty good. I’ve managed to get stuck at work every day until 8 pm so far this week – guess that’s what I get for taking so many days off. 😉 It still feels good to be back though.

I also feel good to be back to my old eating habits. In keeping with the season this morning I whipped up some pumpkin protein oats (1/3 c oats, 1/3 scoop protein powder 2 Tbsp canned pumpkin puree, 1/2 Tbsp sunflower butter, 1/4 c almond milk plus one pinch each of sea salt and pumpkin spice)

Pre-mix:

And post:

Delicious. 🙂 I heated them in the microwave for about 45 seconds – they probably could have gone for a bit longer but I was being impatient. 🙂 I bet they would also be delicious eaten cold.

Lunch was quinoa with chicken, zucchini and hummus.

I’m loving that quinoa is becoming more mainstream. A few years ago most people probably didn’t know how to pronounce it let alone what it was (for the record it’s pronounced “keen-wah”), now I feel like it’s popping up everywhere. My friend Joan tried cooking it for the first time last night and loved it. 🙂 I love that it’s so versatile – you can do anything from sweet breakfast cereal to warm savory dishes or cold salads – and the fact that it’s packed with protein is a bonus. 😉

I’m headed back to work. Hoping to hit up spin class tonight – the morning workouts haven’t been going too well for me so far.

See you all later!

Kristi

Question: What’s your favorite use for quinoa? Any fave recipes??

