HAPPY NOVEMBER!

There’s actually a chill in the air this morning.. 🙂

First thing’s first. It’s time to announce the winner of the Halloween Giveaway! All of the pictures you guys sent were great but I thought this one was extra creative.

Congratulations Joan! 🙂 Email me your address and I’ll get your gift card in the mail. Thanks to everyone who participated. I had a lot of fun seeing how you guys dress your babies up for Halloween. 🙂

I also though this picture deserved honorable mention:

(I may be a little biased though ;)) Thanks Danielle!

So last night after work all I really felt like doing was watching Dancing With the Stars with a glass of chardonnay and some candy corn.

(BTW – did you know candy corn and chardonnay is an awesome combo?)

By the time DWTS was over (awesome dance from Team Paso!) I was more than ready for bed. So sorry for the lack of recipes last night but I promise they’re coming).

So I thought since it’s the day after Halloween and everyone likely still has an abundance of candy it might be fun to talk about some creative uses for leftover Halloween candy.

source

One of my personal favorites is this recipe for Halloween Popcorn Treats from Giada De Laurentiis. The recipe lists specific ingredients but you can really just throw whatever chopped up candy you have left into the mix and these turn out fantastic. I love using chopped up mini Twix for these – the sweet chocolate and chewy caramel mixed with the salty popcorn has got to be the greatest combination ever invented. Warning: these are seriously delicious and addicting so bake responsibly. 😉

Another fun and super simple idea is to whip up a batch of brownies (just use your favorite boxed mix) and sprinkle chopped up mini candy bars into the batter (I love using Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups, M&M’s are also fantastic in these) and make candy brownies. (I find that the candy holds it’s integrity a little better if you pop it in the freezer for about 10 minutes before adding to the batter). Just bake according to package directions.

Finally, perhaps the most fun idea that I’d like to try: make like Heidi Klum and have a Halloween candy and wine pairing party (although I wouldn’t steal her costume idea ;)). I already mentioned above that candy corn and chardonnay are a match made in heaven. Other great pairings? M&M’s and merlot – yum!

I hope these give you some good uses for your leftover candy. If all else fails, eating it straight from the bowl isn’t so shabby either. 😉

I’m off to the gym – hope you’re all having a great day. See you later on tonight!

Kristi

An idea: Since it’s November and in keeping with the spirit of Thanksgiving I am going to list three things I’m thankful for on the blog every day. Feel free to join me by posting what you’re thankful for in the comments section. Today I’m thankful for: cold weather, warm tea and a day off. 🙂

 

