I dressed up today…

source

(No, not like that. πŸ™‚ Halloween is over people…..)

But I did dress up.

I wore fancy shoes instead of the old, tattered ones I typically wear.

I put on a little more eyeliner than usual (I rimmed the inner corners of my eyes which I think gives them a little extra sparkle :))

I ditched the chapstick for lip gloss.

I curled my hair.

I even spritzed a little perfume on the nape of my neck just under my freshly curled hair (I normally try to stay as hypoallergenic as possible for pets and owners who might be sensitive but it was so subtle that I’m pretty sure I’m the only one who noticed).

When I first started working at my current job I used to put together cute outfits, do my hair, I’d wear fun necklaces from time to time andΒ even heels. Over the past couple years I’ve settled into a bit of a rut. I wear my hair straight and simple most days, I have the same 5 or 6 outfits on rotation and flats have become a daily staple.

But today was different. I actually made an effort. Sure my feet hurt a little (ok, a lot) but I also felt fun and flirty (and dare I say sexy even? ;))

And even though I spent most of the day wearing this,

I felt really good. πŸ™‚

When you get up and get ready for work and repeat the same thing day in and day out it can be really easy to fall into a routine but I think it’s important to remind yourself to shake it up a bit every now and then. Β We all deserve to look and feel our best – not to mention, it’s fun. πŸ™‚ Did sprucing up my appearance today make me a better veterinarian? No, not per se, but putting my best face forward did give me more confidence to tackle my day and truthfully, I did feel more polished and professional. I’m sure there will still be plenty of days I just pull my hair up and go but I’m going to try to make more of a conscious effort with my appearance from now on.

On another note, look who’s sleepy from all the excitement yesterday πŸ™‚

(two teeth pulled yesterday!)

I’m about to get myself to bed too but first, today’s list of gratitude:

Understanding clients. This morning I was running late (maybe a little too much primping..) and I rushed into my first appointment apologizing profusely. My first patient was a poodle and her owner was a cute elderly woman wearing a pink overcoat. Instead of being annoyed that I’d kept her waiting, she just smiled and said, “It’s ok honey, it happens to the best of us.” πŸ™‚

Teamwork. My boss’s dog was hit by a car today. When his wife brought the dog in my boss was in surgery and couldn’t tend to him right away. My coworker and I and several technicians jumped in and within minutes we xrays taken and had the little guy clipped and cleaned and bandaged up.

Lingering Halloween decorations. πŸ™‚

AΒ fourth thing I’m grateful for (added last minute): Autosave on WordPress. I hit the wrong button and for a second I thought I lost this entire post – yikes!

Hope you’re all having a wonderful evening! See you tomorrow πŸ™‚

Night!

Kristi

Question: When is the last time you spruced up your daily routine? Or if you do a pretty good job most of the time, any tips to share?

