Tags

, ,

Hi! 🙂

Everyone having a great weekend so far?

Last night I met up with my friend Hillary at Cowboy Ciao. I’d been there once before for drinks but they have a pretty unique menu offering so I was excited to try it out for dinner. I ordered the *famous* Stetson chopped salad (there’s no description on the menu – only a quote from a guest saying they loved the salad so much that they made it their screen saver. 🙂

source

The salad was a mix of israeli couscous, smoked salmon, toasted pepitas, sweet corn and black currants and was a perfect blend of crunchy, fresh and smokey. Let’s just say it lived up to the hype.

For dessert, Hillary and I shared the pumpkin pie donuts which were incredible. We left the third one though – we were stuffed!

(sorry for the terrible iPhone pic)

It was great catching up with Hillary about our lives, work, pets and my new house. She and her fiance are looking to purchase a new home too so I’m hoping we’ll end up close by. It would be so much fun to get together more often.

So, ever since I got the ball rolling with the new house I’ve been going back and forth on whether to run the Rock ‘N’ Roll Vegas Half Marathon in Vegas this December. I really, really want to do it (running at night on the Vegas Strip – yes please!) but it’s also cutting it awfully close to my move in date, not to mention the added expense of the entry fee and plane fare which I probably don’t need right now. Reading all of my blog friends’ updates from the Savannah and NYC marathons this weekend is definitely giving me a renewed excitement though so we’ll see – hopefully I can swing it.

This morning when I woke up (late) I still had pumpkin on the brain so I whipped up a holiday-inspired version of an old favorite.

Pumpkin and Peanut Butter Stuffed French Toast

I pretty much followed this basic method but for the stuffing I used about 1 Tbsp each of peanut butter – I’m out of almond butter but I bet it would also be fantastic – and canned pumpkin puree (mixed well and sweetened with a little Stevia) and for the egg mixture I used 1 egg, 1 Tbsp almond milk, 1/4 tsp vanilla, 1/4 tsp pumpkin pie spice and a dash of cinnamon.

Topped with a little maple syrup and another sprinkle of cinnamon – it was delicious. Let me know if you try it! 🙂

I’m off to run a couple errands (my car is in major need of an oil change) and *hopefully* get some new running shoes (keeping the 1/2 marathon dream alive). Hope you’re having a wonderful day!

Kristi

Today I’m grateful for:

My parents. If they hadn’t let me move in with them to save up some money I wouldn’t have been in such a good position to buy my house. They’ve really helped me out in a lot of ways and for that I’m thankful.

My friends. I have some really great girlfriends who I feel lucky to be able to share my thoughts and dreams with and who continue to enrich my life in countless ways.

Pumpkin. For obvious reasons. 🙂

