Hey everyone! How was your Monday? πŸ™‚

Mine wasn’t too bad. My foot was still bugging me quite a bit this morning and since we were slow at work I decided to make an appointment with the podiatrist (I’ve been meaning to go for awhile to get some advice on work shoes or custom inserts and now seemed like as good a time as any). I expected him to tell me to take it easy for a few days, continue to rest and ice. What I didn’t expect: I have a Β stress fracture.Β 

He diagnosed it using ultrasound and a tuning fork (the same kind you use to tune musical instruments – it sends vibrations that cause pain at the point of fracture where the two parts of the broken bone rub together). The good news: it should heal pretty quickly if I keep it rested. I was actually surprised to hear him say I could still run the half marathon in December if it looks healed at my next visit. Β The bad news: nothing high impact for two weeks (which means no dance cardio and definitely no running :(). He gave me two options: wear a special boot or tennis shoes with some cushy inserts (having no interest in hobbling around in a giant boot for the next two weeks I opted for the latter, now I know how dogs feel about having to wear a cone).

So this is pretty much what I’ll be up to for the next two weeks:

(I’ve been given orders for no bare feet)

Two concerns I have:

Cardio. I really don’t want to skimp on it. If there’s any chance of running the half marathon next month I’ll need to keep up with it and since I was just starting to get back into my fitness groove I don’t want to let my motivation slide. My doctor did say that biking and the elliptical machine are ok so I’m seeing lots of spin class in my future :).

Fashion. My first priority is obviously healing my foot but let’s be real. I’m going to have to wear my sneaks with everything (including dress pants at work) for the next couple weeks. I can’t decide if it’s better to just live in exercise attire for the next couple weeks so the shoes look appropriate or try and pull off the tennis shoes with normal clothes look. What do you guys think?

That being said, I’m definitely glad I went in and had it looked at, and I’m glad it’s nothing major. πŸ™‚

Tonight’s dinner was a hummus bowl:

(zucchini, kale, black beans and chicken)

I’m off to go ice and watch a little Dancing With the Stars.

Have a wonderful evening! πŸ™‚

Kristi

My grateful list:

Cushy slippers.Β 

My mom. I came home starving tonight and she already had dinner cooking in the oven.

Monday nights = DWTS πŸ™‚

 

 

