Hey, how was your Monday? Everyone excited for a short work week? 🙂

I was actually off work today – don’t worry I’m going to make up for it by working Friday and Saturday this week 😦 – and I took the opportunity to do a whole lot of nothing. With things being a little rough over the past week I have definitely been soaking up all the down time. I lounged around most of the morning with a little pumpkin oats and Castle (haven’t seen Castle yet? Do it! :)).

Around noon I peeled myself off of the couch to head to the gym. I checked out my first Kosama class. Today’s session was plyometrics (lots of jumping  = not a good first class for me with my fractured foot). I made a lot of modifications (I felt like the low impact person in a workout video ;)) but I still managed to work up a sweat. I can only imagine how killer the class is going to be when I can actually put in a full effort. After Kosama I did some low impact cardio (elliptical, bike, blah – I’m itching for a run big time!)

For dinner I was craving eggs and used a little inspiration from the goat gouda I picked up last night to whip up a frittata.

I first sauteed garlic, onion and zucchini until slightly transparent

Meanwhile, I mixed 2 whole eggs plus 4 egg whites with a dash of almond milk, salt and pepper

I added some swiss chard and the egg mixture to the pan and allowed the eggs to set

Then I popped it all under the broiler to allow the top of the frittata to cook (it only took a couple minutes), layered on some goat gouda and voila!

I served it up alongside a small salad and some sweet potatoes and it was a lovely light dinner (this frittata would also be a great brunch item! I’m thinking of making it again Thanksgiving morning :))

I’m about to cozy up with a warm cup of candy cane green tea and watch Dancing With the Stars. 🙂

Hope you’re having a great night!

Kristi

Today I’m grateful for:

Lazy Monday mornings. 

Breakfast for dinner. Eggs, toast, waffles, french toast, cereal – I’m a huge fan. 🙂 There’s something so comforting about eating breakfast for dinner.

Technology. This morning I chatted with my best friend via skype while having my morning tea. Not a bad way to start off the day. 🙂

Question: Do you like having breakfast for dinner? 

Anything you’re feeling grateful for?

 

 

 

