Tags

, , , , ,

Good morning! Happy Friday! 🙂

This morning I decided to skip my daily workout to put in a little time at the Starbucks *office* and besides burning my tongue on my tea, I think it was a good decision. Every now and then I need to take a little time to myself to reflect and collect my thoughts and this was one of those times.

It’s that time of year again to start thinking about goals. I’m the type of person who likes to make and review goals often but when things get busy (like around the holidays) those goals can often fall by the wayside so this morning was a good opportunity to remind myself to bring them to the forefront again.

Some goals I accomplished this year:

I started a healthy living blog (see my first post *here*) and I’ve kept it going for over 6 months. It has been so great connecting with other like-minded people and I’ve had a lot of fun discovering the healthy living blogger community.

I bought my first home! The process was stressful but definitely worth it in the end. I’m definitely still getting settled but I love it every. single. day.

I traveled. A lot. Miami, Philadelphia (Healthy Living Summit), San Diego/LA, Las Vegas, Santa Barbara, Baltimore..

(in Santa Barbara with my girls <3)

I started getting back on track with my fitness goals (with a little motivation from my trainer ;)) I still have a little ways to go to get to where I want to be but I’m definitely seeing some progress. 🙂

Some goals I hope to accomplish in the new year:

Become a decorating diva. I’ve never really had a place of my own to do what I want with and I’m really excited. I can’t wait to make my house a place I love coming home to. (I’m taking inspiration from this girl)

Continue to develop the blog. I have so many thoughts and ideas I want to share with you guys. I would also like to update the site’s design (if anyone knows a good design guru let me know!) and look into getting a good digital camera (<–this would be a big purchase for me) so I can stop flooding you with all the iPhone pics. 😉

Learn something new. Every semester I scan the community college course books for a fun new class to try. I’ve already got this one in the bag – I’m signed up to take a salsa class with my good friend Jensen starting January 10th! I’m thinking I might look into a baking class also.. baking intimidates me and I’ve always been in awe of people who can just throw together a cookie recipe at a moment’s notice.

Keep working towards my fitness goals. As I mentioned, I’ve been making progress. I try not to focus on the scale or numbers but more so on how my body feels. I have an *image* in my mind of how my body feels when I’m at my best and that’s what I’m working towards. I’m going to keep challenging myself with different types of exercise (thinking of adding hot yoga back in the mix), eat well and hopefully watch my body continue to tone up and change. I’m also planning to train for a 1/2 marathon in San Diego with my sister in March since my plans for the Vegas 1/2 were derailed.

Make more time to read. I always seem to have a must-read list of books a mile long. Now that I’ll have plenty of alone time in the new place and the Kindle ap on my iPhone I really have no excuses!

*****

With two holiday weekends back to back there has been a lot of excitement and activity going on. This weekend is no exception.

This weekend I’m looking forward to:

Zoo lights.

source

Every year around this time they decorate the Phoenix Zoo with Christmas lights and they always send our clinic free tickets. You get to walk around the zoo at night, sip on hot chocolate or coffee and take in all the lights and exhibits. Tonight I’m going with work friends, it’s sure to be a fun time. 🙂

A double yoga session with my good friend Lauren.I haven’t been making it to yoga as often as I’d like lately. Lauren’s a yoga instructor and I’m going to hit up a couple of her classes tomorrow morning and we’re going to grab breakfast in between. I’m thinking it will be the perfect way to end out the year.

Celebrating and ringing in the new year however that may be – I don’t have any plans yet, do you guys??

Hope you’re having a wonderful Friday!

Kristi

What are your goals for the new year? Do you like to set goals throughout the year too?

