Tags

, ,

Happy Saturday! πŸ™‚

I appreciate Saturdays so much now that I no longer have to work every.single.one.

That being said, I woke up this morning in a bit of a crank-pants mood. I’m not sure if I’m still catching up on sleep or if it’s just the stress of my car situation being up in the air and a few other things that have been wearing on me lately.

One thing that always cheers me up? Breakfast. πŸ™‚

As you probably already know, my usual go-to breakfast is a smoothie but this morning I was thrown for a loopΒ when I caught sight of this pure2raw recipe for pecan pumpkin glazed donuts this morning on twitter (I always check out my twitterfeed in bed in the morning to *wake up*).

That was exactly what I wanted for breakfast.

Too bad I wasn’t anywhere close to having the ingredients to make donuts of any kind but I did happen to have a can of pumpkin on hand.

I was going back and forth between a cold pumpkin smoothie and warm pumpkin oatmeal for breakfast when my brother called and said he was leaving to pick me up for the gym and would be at my house in 5 minutes. That ended the great breakfast debate.

I tossed 2 Tbsp pumpkin puree, 1/2 c frozen mango, 1 scoop chocolate protein powder, 1 Tbsp sunflower butter, pumpkin pie seasoning and hazelnut extract in the blender + a small handful of Bob’s Red Mill gluten free oats for good measure, grabbed my stuff and took my breakfast to go.

At the gym, I ran a slow 3 miles on the treadmill then met up with my trainer Kenny for a light total body workout. I think he could tell my mind was somewhere else today because he chatted a lot and took it easy on me.

For lunch, Dan and I popped over to Genghis Grill. I have to admit, I have mixed feelings about buffet-style places where they have food sitting out all day but there is something to be said for designing a custom meal.

I went with a mixture of shrimp, chicken, calamari, brown rice + lots of veg and their gluten free dragon sauce (I’m not sure what was in it but it was a perfect mix of spicy and sweet).

Now I’m back at home and getting ready to tackle the giant mess that is my closet. Hope you’re having a wonderful weekend! πŸ™‚

Kristi

What’s your take on mongolian BBQ – yay or nay?

