This morning I’m taking it back..

way back.

source

I probably haven’t had a McDonald’s milkshake since I was about ten years old but I can still remember exactly how they taste. I can also clearly remember the internal debate I would always have on whether to order strawberry or chocolate (for the record, chocolate usually won out :)).

This healthier version combines the best of both worlds and although I’m eating it from a grown-up bowl and with a spoon rather than sipping from a straw I can’t help but get transported back to a younger time.

The Strawberry Chocolate Milkshake Smoothie:

In a blender combine:

– 1 c frozen strawberries

– 1/2 frozen banana (while the banana doesn’t interject a lot of actual flavor it does tone down the tartness of the strawberries and gives the smoothie a nice thick texture)

– 1 c milk of your choice (I use almond)

– 1/2 Tbsp cocoa powder

– Optional 1 scoop chocolate protein powder

Blend until extra thick and smooth. Enjoy. 🙂

Hope you’re having a great Wednesday!

Kristi

What was your favorite McDonald’s shake flavor as a kid?

