Tags

, , , , ,

Hey, how was your Sunday?

Is everyone full from Superbowl snacking? I am. 🙂

Luckily I made it to the gym this afternoon before all of the festivities began. I ran a fast 3 miles on the treadmill and tried my hand at my first solo total body weights workout in a loooong time.

Since I’ve been working out with my trainer Kenny pretty steadily for the past couple years I have sort relied on him to provide me with my strength workouts. The downside of that is I felt like I was putzing around today when it came time to take matters into my own hands. I did a couple sets on the lat pull down machine, some tricep dips, spent a few minutes on the leg press and hamstring curl machines and busted out some bicep curls. Honestly, I felt a little like a fish out of water.

Working with Kenny has definitely helped me develop some good technique when it comes to my workouts but I think I’m going to have to put a little more time into planning out my gym time on days I plan to do strength training. If anybody has any suggestions I’d love to hear them.

Now onto the fun part of the day, the food. 🙂

As promised, I made my Reese’s peanut butter cup brownies. The recipe (if you can even call it that) is super simple and basically requires two things:

A box of brownie mix and a bag of Reese’s peanut butter cups. You could certainly use a homemade brownie recipe but trust me the Reese’s pb cups are so good they fancy up any store bought brownie mix – I usually just buy whatever’s on sale.

I prepared the brownie mix according to package directions then crumbled up about 1/4 of the peanut butter cups and mixed them right into the batter (I use 1 bag of pb cups to make two batches – I made one to take in and share at work tomorrow). Another 1/4 get sprinkled on top of the brownie mix once in the pan, then just pop them in the oven and cook according to package instructions. That is all.

Doesn’t that look like a bowl of batter you’d just like to dive into? 🙂

The finished product:

So simple and delicious. Peanut butter and chocolate is such a classic winning combo.

Throughout the day I snacked on veggies and hummus

+ a few spoonfulls of pb cup brownie batter 😉

The fam had pulled pork sandwiches but I opted for a veggie ‘pizza’ instead since I had a craving.

It only took me a couple minutes to turn this

Into this

It hit the spot.

When all was said and done I was perfectly stuffed. Now I’m home watching The Voice (first time ever – I kind of love it 🙂 Does anyone else watch? Why am I just now discovering this show??) and then it’s bed time. Hope you had a great weekend!

Kristi

Question for the evening:

Do you usually go to the gym with a strength training plan or do you just go with the flow? Any favorite workouts to share?


