Hey there! How’s your Tuesday going? 🙂

It’s an overcast day over here

Perfect for starting the day off slow with a warm bowl of oatmeal.

(1 c bob’s red mill gluten free oats, 1/2 banana, almond milk, stevia, cinnamon and cacao nibs)

Ok, so I don’t think it’s any secret that I like larabars.

I pretty much have one for a snack every single day.

Today I had planned to stock up for the week at the grocery store. I can usually count on Sunflower Market to have at least one flavor on sale for $1.00 apiece. Today, however, when I got to the protein bar aisle I saw they were all regularly priced at $1.49. Since I’ve been trying to be a bit more mindful with my spending these days, I decided to opt for a more budget friendly snack.

Enter solution:

I decided to take the bulk bins to gather ingredients to create my own trail mix.

In keeping with the theme of the month of February, I gravitated toward red goji berries and cranberries and of course who doesn’t think of chocolate with the mention of Valentine’s Day?

I combined these ingredients with some cashews I already had at home to create a Chocolate Goji Berry Trail Mix

(semisweet dark chocolate chips, goji berries, dried cranberries and cashews)

For the price of the bulk ingredients totaling $3.83 (plus the cashews I already had on hand) I yielded seven 1/4 cup servings (I would have probably had eight servings if I hadn’t been snacking on it as I put it all together 😉 ) so that’s roughly 54 cents per serving – not too bad!

The goji berries and chocolate are packed with antioxidants and it’s a fun switch up from my regular go-to snack. The best part of creating your own trail mix? You get to choose the ingredients. 🙂

I’m off to head to a couple appointments and then meet my mom for dinner – we’re having Persian food – yum!

Hope you’re having a great day!

Kristi

What would you put in your ideal trail mix? Get creative! 🙂

