Good morning! How is your week going so far? 🙂

I decided to skip the gym this morning since I’ll be going tonight after work. The extra hour of sleep felt wonderful but I’m definitely missing that energy boost that my morning workout gives me – I plan to use that as some motivation for future mornings when I’m wavering on going or not.

Breakfast this morning:

(pineapple chia seed smoothie and millet toast with cranapple jelly)

So, kale chips have been popping up all over the place lately in stores like Whole Foods. They’re a healthy alternative to potato chips for when you’re craving something snacky, however, they can cost upwards of $6 or more for a tiny bag.

Earlier in the week, one of my coworkers was snacking on some homemade kale chips at lunch and when I asked about her recipe I was surprised to hear her say that she’d actually baked them. I always assumed you had to have a dehydrator to make kale chips. It sounded super easy so on Tuesday I decided to give it a go.

Turns out I can kale. And you can too. 🙂

Homemade Baked Kale Chips

– Take 1 bunch kale, and tear or cut into bite sized pieces

– Drizzle with olive oil (just a touch will do)

– Season as desired (I used sea salt and nutritional yeast)

– Bake at 300 degrees for 12-16 minutes (the cooking time may vary greatly depending on the thickness of your kale, I would start checking for browning at around 10 minutes and every 1-2 minutes thereafter – you want to remove them just when they get crispy)

(unbaked kale in a bowl for mixing)

And the finished product:

Delicious. Baked kale really has a unique and appealing flavor – try it if you haven’t already.

I’m off to get ready for the work day – hope you have a wonderful Thursday!

Kristi

Today’s question: Kale – are you a fan?

 

 

