I’m not gonna lie, this morning was a little rough.

Last night’s spin class was fun and interesting as always. My instructor has started this new thing where he walks around the room midway through the class checking on us, making adjustments to our seat heights and asking how we’re doing. It kind of reminds me of when talk show hosts will walk around talking with audience members during commercial breaks. Then he runs back to the front of the room to do pushups before hopping back on his bike. He’s an interesting fella. 🙂

After spin, I came home and put on Wednesday night’s DVR’d episode of Modern Family (loved the cooking/dance scene with Cameron and Gloria) to watch while I ate dinner (chicken, broccoli and a sweet potato smothered in almond butter – thanks fitnessista for the idea!)

Determined to stick to my morning workout schedule I forced myself to shut off the TV once Modern Family was over rather than starting The Office (so tempting…) I actually managed to get to bed at a decent hour but I tossed and turned all night so by the time 4:30 am rolled around the last thing I wanted to do was get out of bed.

But I had a date.

Earlier in the week my good friend Katie and I had planned a treadmill date to catch up. Katie lives in Baltimore but with her schedule being a little different than mine and the time difference it actually worked out for us to chat at 5:30 Phoenix time. Since I wanted to get in a weights workout this morning I knew I had to get to the gym extra early to finish up before our phone date.

For my strength workout I completed this routine from Julie (pbfingers) – minus the cardio intervals. I was a little pressed for time so I only ran through two sets of each exercise but it still got the job done. 🙂

After my weights session I walked on the treadmill and chatted with Katie for about 20 minutes – it was a nice way to start my Friday! I think we’re going to make it a routine. 🙂

Breakfast this morning was a filling bowl of oats

(topped with 1/2 sliced banana, 1/2 scoop protein powder, almond butter and cacao nibs)

Starting my day off with a great workout has made me so much more energized and productive – i love having my virtual gym buddy to keep me accountable. Thanks Katie!

Hope you’re having a wonderful Friday!

Kristi

How do you keep yourself accountable for your workouts? Do you have a gym buddy or any other tips to share?

