Tags

, , ,

…is better than no spin at all.

At least that’s what I kept telling myself tonight on the way to spin class.  I got held up late at work with a sick patient and ended up leaving about 45 minutes later than usual which meant that by the time I made it to the gym class would be half over (I usually have to rush out the door right at 6:30 to make it on time). I had a mini internal debate as I walked to my car trying to talk myself out of going – I had already missed 30 minutes of class and I hate going into class late (nevermind that this particular instructor doesn’t seem to mind stragglers), would I really get a worthwhile workout in just half the time? That’s when I decided to go with the something is better than nothing mentality. And I’m glad I did. I still worked up a sweat, burned some calories and it was a good way to unwind after a less than stellar day.

I’m not really sure why but I was in such a crabby mood all day. Luckily I was in surgery most of the day so I was able to just chill out and focus – I definitely wasn’t feeling like a people person!

Dinner tonight was a little bit of a dilemma. I had a leftover turkey burger that I’d cooked up the other night because I knew I’d want something quick and easy to eat (surgery day + spin class = I get home starving). I had some asparagus to have on the side but I was in the mood for something kind of starchy like a sweet potato to round out the meal. Unfortunately, I’d eaten the last of my sweet potato tots last night and  had no other potatoes in sight – problem.

Enter solution:

I saw these guys hiding in the cupboard and I figured I could mash them up and make a “mock” mashed potato. I put about 1/2 c of beans into the blender with a little olive oil, sea salt and almond milk (just enough to get things moving) and made a garbanzo bean mash.

I garnished the mash with a little paprika on top. It was tasty and filling and had a nice hearty texture that satisfied my potato craving. Definitely a winner.

Well I’m off to bed. I’m hoping to get to the gym early to attempt this workout from Julie at pbfingers. Hope your night is going well!

Kristi

