Good morning! Hope you’re all having a lovely Sunday so far. 🙂

Work yesterday was crazy and left me completely exhausted. Usually by the end of the week my body and mind are spent and that’s always when my cravings seem to be in full force. Yesterday was no exception: I wanted chocolate – badly. I knew I wanted to indulge in a mindful and healthy way though and not let it turn into a full blown binge fest.

I stopped by Whole Foods and found this chocolate bean brownie – I’ve seen a lot of buzz on the internet about black bean brownies lately and I was curious but also a bit skeptical.

Let me tell you, these things are legit. It was so rich and I didn’t get a ‘bean’ flavor from it at all. I sat down in the cafe and enjoyed my brownie with a cup of coffee on the side. It definitely satisfied my craving in a healthful way.

After my chocolate fix, I went home and took a much needed nap. I had planned on a 10k treadmill run but my feet were aching from running around all day at work and my body just wasn’t feeling it yet. My nap energized me enough to get a move on and get to the gym and I busted out 6.2 miles in just over an hour – not too bad!

Since it had been a long week, I was in the mood for a low-key evening and ended up going over to hang out with my brothers and watch a movie.

Dinner was a veggie ‘pizza’ and salad.

I’ve been making a lot of these ‘pizzas’ lately. I top a brown rice tortilla with Trader Joe’s bruschetta spread and any veggies I’ve got on hand and toss it in the oven at 400 degrees for about 8-10 minutes. Super easy and tasty and a great way to sneak in lots of veggies.

We watched The Prestige. Synopsis: a rivalry between two 19th century magicians is exacerbated when one of them performs the ultimate illusion. Not typically up my alley but it was actually pretty intriguing. I only made it halfway through the movie though before I had to get home and go to bed. I never found out how the trick was performed! Maybe some other time.

This morning I made myself some blueberry protein pancakes

(I used this recipe from fitnessista)

and then hit the road to take the pups to the dog park.

True to form Alan spent the entire time trying to convince other people to take her home with them, Eddy tried to escape multiple times (he’s an evil genius) and Jelly bean ran around like a little social butterfly.

Exhibit A:

"Are you my mommy?"

Exhibit B:

That look in his eyes says, "I'm outta here!"

Exhibit C:

Making friends 🙂

Lunch this afternoon was arugula topped with leftover black bean sweet potato quinoa mash (a failed attempt to make black bean and quinoa burgers – but still delicious), corn and organic ketchup with a side of apple slices sprinkled with cinnamon.

I’m off to see Wicked!!

Hope you’re having a great Sunday! 🙂

Kristi

 

