Tags

, , ,

Good morning! And happy Monday. 🙂

First things first, Wicked yesterday was AMAZING! I’m not a huge musical person. In fact I’ve only actually seen a couple (I saw West Side Story on Broadway – loved it – and Phantom of the Opera here in town – not so much) but I would highly, highly recommend it to anyone. So entertaining and fun and I was completely blown away by the talented cast.

source

Seriously, go see it.

Motivation Monday:

Well since it’s Monday, it’s time for our weekly dose of motivation. I wanted to share my inspiration board with you guys. Only, I didn’t exactly finish it. I have been adding inspiring words and pictures as I come across them but there are still some things that I want to represent and I don’t want to force it until I find the right pics to really get me going.

Here’s how my board is shaping up so far:

It’s getting there but still a work in progress. So I’m just going to have to share it with you guys one corner at a time. 🙂

First up: My health and fitness goals:

In choosing these images, I thought about all of the things that help me live my healthiest life (and I also kept in mind the things that tend to trip me up). Here are my goals:

Get more sleep. Getting enough sleep is important for so many reasons and it’s definitely an area I’ve skimped on in the past. Besides the obvious benefit of simply having more energy, when I’m well rested I make better food decisions as well. When I’m running on empty my body craves quick energy from sugary foods and these are the times I’m more prone to over-indulging the wrong way (ie binging on multiple cookies just because they’re in front of my face rather than having one or two and actually enjoying them). Simply going to bed earlier also prevents late night snacking which is another one of my biggest pitfalls. Bonus: an earlier bedtime also sets me up for starting my day off with an early morning workout. I’m going to aim to get at least 7-8 hours of sleep per night.  

Exercise (almost) every day. Of course I’m not going to hold myself to exercising every single day, but what I mean is that I want to make it part of my daily routine again. With long work days it’s easy to skip out on a workout but I want my inspiration board to help remind me how good I feel when I start my day off with exercise. My current plan is to workout 5-6 days per week (rest days will be scheduled in too) and to exercise first thing in the morning so will be no excuse for not fitting it in. My goal is to make exercise such an automatic part of my routine that I wouldn’t dream of not doing it.

Eat healthy. This is obviously a very broad statement and it’s going to mean different things to different people. For me, it means choosing well-balanced meals from fresh, unprocessed foods (lots of whole grains, fruits and veggies, lean protein) most of the time. I want to keep in mind  that the ultimate reason I eat is to fuel my body and I want to feed it in the best possible way with foods that make me feel good. I still plan to indulge and enjoy treats (hey I love food) but I want to do it in more a balanced, mindful way (more on this to come in future posts).

Find a balance. About 2 years ago when I first started working with my trainer Kenny my body responded really well and I saw changes rather quickly. That was probably the best I’ve ever felt and what I would consider my “feel good weight”. Although I probably wasn’t eating the greatest, I was exercising nearly every day and I believe I had struck a really great balance between food and fitness. Since then I’ve struggled to get back to that weight and to feeling that way in general. There are probably a lot of things that contributed to letting my feel good weight slip away (I got comfortable with my routine and let things slide, I suffered a running injury, I tend to have an all or nothing attitude, I may have let life’s stresses get to me a little too much..) but I am definitely ready to get it back.

My goal is to adopt healthy habits and to find a maintainable balance that I can turn into a lifestyle. I want my inspiration board to help me get back on track by reminding me that living a healthy life means making choices every single day. Sometimes I’m going to choose cake or brownies (hey, what’s life without cake?) but in order to find balance that may mean doing a little extra cardio or choosing to say no the next time.  I added the phrase, “You ate it, negate it” to the board because it reminded me of a talk I had with my trainer where he told me that it’s fine to indulge but if you want to maintain your weight then you need to work it off the very next day. Simply put – eat a little cake tonight, be a little more active tomorrow. In other words, have a balance. Makes sense doesn’t it?

Love myself. Being healthy means having a healthy attitude not just a healthy body. In the past I’ve definitely been guilty of letting anxiety and stress get the best of me. I’m going to try and focus on the here and now rather than worrying about the future and accept myself for who I am today as well as look forward to what I may accomplish tomorrow.

I hope you enjoyed hearing about some of my goals. I’d love to hear yours!

What are your current health/fitness goals? How do you maintain a healthy balance?

I hope everyone’s week is off to a wonderful start!

Kristi

