Tags

, , , , , ,

Hey friends! Sorry I’ve been a little MIA – the past 24 hours I’ve been a baking fool.

I made two batches of Averie’s Marshmallow Peanut Butter Double Chocolate Pillowtop bars.

Absolutely delicious. I ate 3 right off the bat last night. 😉

I also baked some vegan cupcakes this evening for a coworkers birthday using this recipe. The only changes I made were to sub almond milk for soy, I used brown rice flour added about 1/2 of a 10 ounce bag of vegan dark chocolate chips to the batter to make it extra chocolatey.

(yes, cupcakes at my house cool in the microwave – the only place where the cat can’t get to them)

Since I overdid it a bit last night I tried to keep my *sampling* tonight to a minimum but I did take one bite of the cupcake and all I can say is OMG. The melted dark chocolate chips made it extra rich and gooey and there is nothing *vegan* tasting about this recipe – it’s a good one!

For the icing I used a simple mix of confectioner’s sugar, almond milk, a small dash of peppermint extract and this coconut earth balance spread:

The frosting came out a little runny (I’m thinking the coconut spread?) so it may end up being more of a glaze than an actual frosting but it should hopefully still taste delicious.
I guess my coworkers will be the judge of that. 🙂

Hope you’re having a great night!

Kristi

 

