Hi friends! Sorry I kind of disappeared on you yesterday. It had been a long week and about all I felt like doing was cleaning the house and curling up on the couch with a tortilla pizza for one.

This one had chicken, black beans, green peppers and Trader Joe’s pineapple salsa piled onto a brown rice tortilla. Delicious indeed. 🙂

Breakfast this morning was also delicious although you might not know from looking at it.

I made banana protein pancakes using this recipe – I topped with coconut butter, sliced banana, cinnamon and maple syrup.

For some reason, I can never get my pancakes to keep shape and these ended up crumbling all over the pan forcing me to combine them into one giant pancake conglomeration. Somebody please teach me how to make pretty round pancakes. 😦

The pancakes tasted great but weren’t as filling as I hoped they’d be so I also had another 1/2 banana with some almond butter on the side. I’m off for my last long training run this morning and I’m always worried I’m going to run out of fuel.

Speaking of fuel, today is going to be my first day trying out these:

(honey stinger organic energy chews and nuun electrolyte tabs)

My training runs so far haven’t really been long enough to necessitate fueling but today I plan to tackle 10 miles so I figured I’d better bring something along (Edited to say: I didn’t think any of my previous runs had been long enough to necessitate fueling but now I can see that they probably were. Popping just a few of the honey stinger chews really helped get my energy back up and kept me from hitting a wall towards the end of my run. From now on, for anything longer than 6 miles or so these guys will be coming along!) . When I ran my first 1/2 marathon back in 2009 I vaguely remember someone handing me some type of fueling gel to eat somewhere along the end of the course long after I’d hit a wall and I can recall it being sickeningly sweet and making me want to vomit. I’m a big texture person when it comes to any type of food and I think gels are out for me. I’m hoping these chews do the trick – wish me luck.

I hope you are having a wonderful and relaxing Sunday! 🙂

Kristi

Runners – what’s your running fuel of choice? Do you have a favorite pre-run breakfast?

