Good morning! Happy Monday 🙂

How was everyone’s weekend?

After taking it easy on Saturday, yesterday ended up being quite a productive day. I tackled my 10 mile run (my longest training distance to date) which ended up going really well, much in part to finally learning how to properly fuel. My parents met up and walked the dogs along the trail while I ran so they spent most of the day conked out.

(So nice to see this crazy little girl sleeping for once – I love that little tuft of hair on top of her head :))

After fitting in a quick nap myself, I was surprised I had enough energy to start in on some laundry and a few other tasks I’d been meaning to get to around the house – mostly unpacking and organizing. Somewhere around 6 pm I got bit by the baking bug and decided to make cupcakes.  I followed a basic chocolate cupcake recipe then added  1 tsp of instant coffee powder and about 1/2 c Ghiradelli semisweet chocolate chips into the batter.

(I swear this is the secret to making anything taste better)

I also made a hazelnut frosting to go along – here’s hoping they’re delicious. 🙂

While the cupcakes baked, I watched The Wedding Planner on DVR (completely missed the Oscars – woops!) and worked a little more on my inspiration board.

Let’s see, long run, nap, a little productivity, some baking and Matthew Macconaughey…that just might have been the perfect Sunday. 🙂

source

But now, let’s move on to Monday!

Motivation Monday:

How have your goals been going? Last week, I shared my health and fitness goals with you and as I mentioned my inspiration board is coming right along

I’ll be coming back to it in future posts but for today I wanted to talk about staying motivated.

source

This is kind of a silly quote but it’s true. How often have you had a great idea or felt inspired to get into shape or start up a creative project but then never ended up following through? It happens to all of us. Now to be fair, some whims are just that – fleeting ideas, and that’s fine, but there are some that keep coming back around and nudging at us to get moving I think it’s important to pay attention to those little nudges.

Excitement is the spark that sets motivation in motion but we really can’t expect that spark to sustain us for the longhaul. It’s important to remind yourself of your goals and check in with yourself on a regular basis. And here’s the hard part – it takes work. And being dedicated on a regular basis. But the good news is every little bit counts. Some days you may only consider your goals briefly, brainstorming and jotting down a couple ideas, other days you may go full force with productivity but if it’s truly important to you then keep coming back to it. It will pay off in the end.

(Can you tell this post may be a little pep talk for myself? :))

How do you find your daily dose of motivation?

I like having something visual like an inspiration board or workout calendar to remind me of my goals on a daily basis. Looking to others for inspiration also really motivates me – one of my favorite inspirational stories is Bethenny Frankel’s and I love starting out Mondays with a dose of Bethenny Ever After now that the new season is back. I also enjoyed reading her book A Place of Yes – in fact, I’m thinking about starting it up again.

And lastly, reading blogs is probably one of my favorite ways to stay motivated. Case in point: this morning I came across this article to read for some good workout motivation: Three Steps for Committing To Your Workouts

I hope you’ll share some of your tips with me – feel free to link to any inspirational articles or post you come across too! 🙂

Have a wonderful Monday!

Kristi

