Tags

, , , , ,

Hey there! Sorry I disappeared on you yesterday. I actually had a Motivation Monday post semi-ready to go but never got a chance to finish it – so you’ll probably be seeing that next week. 🙂

Yesterday ended up being a pretty busy day at the clinic and after work one of my technician friends Kayla and I met up to take our friend Lauren’s yoga class. I hadn’t done yoga in forever and it felt so good. I really need to bring some yoga back into my life on a regular basis.

After yoga we ate at Joe’s Farm Grill, an old farm-house converted to a modern restaurant which uses fresh and local ingredients for their self-described “common food.” (Fun fact: Joe’s was featured on the Food Network’s ‘Diners, Drive-ins and Dives’). It was my first time eating at Joe’s and I really enjoyed it. I ordered the grilled portobello burger (which I ate san bun), topped with arugula and green goddess dressing with spicy dill carrots on the side.

The mushroom was a monster and it was delicious.

After dinner I ended up staying out way too late chatting with my friend Lauren but we don’t get to see each other very often so it was great to catch up with her.

This morning I made a quick breakfast before heading out to my appointment with my trainer. I had attempted to whip up some protein pancakes but they turned out all crumbly again (why can’t I get any consistency with these things?). Since I lost a fair amount of batter trying to salvage the mess I didn’t think they’d make for a very substantial breakfast. That’s when I got the strange idea to ‘fry’ up some oats (I just heated them on medium low for a couple minutes with a little coconut butter, cinnamon and stevia). I topped the pancake disaster with the ‘fried’ oats and banana slices and peanut butter. The crunchy oats actually gave everything a nice texture and turned my pancake fail into a win. 🙂

 

My morning workout with my trainer Kenny kicked my butt. I had asked him to kick things up a notch to challenge my body a little and boy did he ever (think pushups with a 25 lb weight on my back and lunges for days). After our workout, Kenny said he was actually a little surprised I was able to complete it and that I was stronger than he thought. That’s right, I’ve got the power. 😉

I had planned on a 4 mile treadmill run but after our session there was no way my legs were going anywhere. I really do need to fit a run in to stay on track with the 1/2 marathon training so that means I’ll have to head to the gym this evening. Heading to the gym twice in one day takes a lot of motivation so you guys hold me to it, mmkay?

I’m about to curl up on the couch for a couple hours before heading out for an appointment and some errands.

Hope you’re having a great Tuesday!

Kristi

What I’m reading this morning:

9 Health Benefits of Chocolate <— As if I really need more excuses to eat chocolate 😉

Healthy Carrot Cake Breakfast Cookie Recipe <— Carrot cake, cookies, breakfast..? I can’t even wrap my head around this – too good to be true!

 

 

