Hi how are ya? Hope your week is going well so far. 🙂

So I know it’s night time but I wanted to talk about breakfast. I recently posted about my frustration over my lack of success in trying to drop a few pounds (which you can read about here). Since I feel like generally I eat a fairly well-balanced diet, I initially figured my workouts must be to blame and as a result I’ve been kicking things up a notch in that department. However, since weight is a reflection of both diet and exercise I thought the problem warranted a little investigation into my eating habits also.

I was reading this post from Brittany yesterday in which she talks about being a big breakfast person and how filling up early on in the day helps keep her more satisfied and prevents excessive snacking later on and it got me thinking. I’ve always loved breakfast. I’m hungry first thing in the morning and can honestly eat within minutes of waking up most days (in fact, the promise of a nice big breakfast is sometimes the only thing that gets me out of bed in the morning). I used to eat a fairly large breakfast (a smoothie plus a piece of toast and veggie sausage or waffles and eggs were pretty much standard) but over the past year or so my breakfasts have pared down quite a bit.

I know that part of it started when I used to live with my brother and he would often comment about how much I was eating for breakfast. I mean, seriously, going back for yogurt and granola not even an hour after taking down a smoothie and french toast? I know I shouldn’t have taken my brother’s comments to heart and I was aware that I did tend to balance it out later in the day by eating smaller portions at lunch and dinner but seeing my breakfast portions outweigh his did make me second guess myself. Nevermind the fact that I was probably at my healthiest weight feeling the best I’d ever felt despite having a larger than average breakfast and eating a small dessert nearly every single night. For whatever reason, I just remember taking a look at my breakfast one day and deciding it was way too much.

So I started limiting myself to just a smoothie for breakfast or just eggs and a slice of toast when, truthfully, some days I really wanted and could easily have eaten all three. But I kept telling myself that this was the ‘right’ way to eat. Well now I’m starting to question that a little. I’m realizing that, come to think of it, there are many evenings I come home starving at the end of a long day and there are plenty of days it seems I don’t feel satisfied no matter how much I eat. And on my days off or on weekends when I typically allow myself a little more indulgence at breakfast I do tend to feel more satisfied throughout the day. On my surgery days at work where I often *front load* my meals out of necessity, eating breakfast and lunch before 11 am to prepare for hours in the operating room, I do tend to feel a little less snacky. I’d always attributed my constant snacking at work to boredom but maybe there’s more to it?

So in light of my recent struggles in the weight department I’ve decided to bring breakfast back. I mean, what do I really have to lose (pun very mich intended). I tested out my little experiment this morning with the following breakfast:

{van’s gluten free waffle with raspberry jam, an egg + one egg white and strawberry banana smoothie + green tea}

I even went back for a spoonful of peanut butter because I wasn’t quite content. 🙂

As I was getting ready for work I took a moment to check in with my gut, so to speak, and I realized I felt more satisfied and dare I say happier (?) than I had in awhile. I had to smile and pat my belly, “Don’t worry little guy, err…gal, I won’t let you starve.”

Maybe if I get back in touch with how my body really wants to eat it will naturally balance itself out. Maybe I’ll be better able to control my late night cravings and maybe I’ll just feel better in general. And if I happen to lose some weight in the process that would be an added bonus. Only time will tell but I’m going to give it a try.  And I’m pretty sure my stomach’s on board. 🙂

Hope you’re having a great night!

Kristi

What about you? Are you a big breakfast person or not so much? I really think we all have different ways of eating in order to feel our best which is cool if you think about it! I’d love to hear what works for you.

