Tags

, ,

Hey friends, how was your Monday? 🙂

I have to admit that after spending pretty much all of Sunday horizontal on the couch (I did manage to surface briefly for a belated birthday dinner with the fam) this Monday morning kind of hit me like a ton of bricks.

Don’t get me wrong, Saturday night was definitely a much needed carefree night out on the town and I had a great time (I went, I saw, I conquered and all that) but the rest of this week and next weekend is probably going to be devoted to catching up on sleep.

Dinner last night was at TK’s Urban Tavern. I ordered the grilled shrimp and quinoa salad which isn’t really your typical ‘salad’ (it’s pretty much quinoa, tomatoes and fresh herbs topped with grilled shrimp) but it was delicious nonetheless.

I was really feeling dessert so my brother and I split the apple cobbler. Warm doughy pastry, cinnamon apples topped with melted ice cream? Yes, please!

After dinner my brothers and I walked across the street to Menchie’s for some fro-yo. Dessert round two? Don’t mind if I do!

I got a mix of Irish Mint and German Chocolate Cake with Heath Bar bits and mini peanut butter cups. Yum!

I came home stuffed and happy and the couch and I reunited just long enough to watch the first half of Cupcake Wars before I decided to call it an early night. I really needed a good night’s rest. Lately I’ve been tracking my sleep with the Sleep Cycle App on my phone. It records your sleep cycle in waves so that it can wake you up during your lightest phase of sleep. Last night was a flat line.

Today at work was busy but mostly uneventful aside from a German Shepherd who tried to bite my face off (hey, at least I wasn’t the only one cranky on this Monday!) Needless to say, I’m happy to be back at home relaxing this evening.

Well I know it’s a little late in the day but I still wanted to instill a little Monday motivation so here we go..

Motivation Monday!

It’s never too late for a little motivation right? 🙂

This morning I was talking with my vet friend (and virtual workout buddy) Katie who was lamenting about not having a chance to exercise over the weekend. She had ended up stuck late at work with a couple difficult surgeries (including a 104 lb dog spay) and was too spent to fit in a workout  i actually did manage to make it to the gym this morning for a quick elliptical workout but it was less than ideal and I have to admit I had been feeling a little disappointed that I didn’t get in a better workout to offset my indulgent weekend.

As I reminded Katie not to be too hard on herself – and that spaying a 104 lb dog actually is a workout, take my word for it – I realized I was being a little too hard on myself also.

The thing is, sometimes life does create conditions that are less than ideal for maintaining a healthy lifestyle. Maybe it’s an extended birthday celebration that results in eating both apple cobbler and frozen yogurt for dessert (it happens). Maybe it’s a busier than usual work schedule or just a full social calendar –  these things are going to happen and that’s fine.

The goal is not to let that derail you. Take a few days to recharge, enjoy yourself, whatever, but then get back to it. No need to apologize or feel bad. That’s life. Come to think of it, that’s healthy living. 🙂

Well, I’m going to make it another (relatively) early night and hit the gym tomorrow for a good cardio session and a workout with my trainer.

I hope your week is off to a great start!

Kristi

