Tags

, , , ,

Good morning! How was your weekend? 🙂

I spent most of my weekend recovering from last week’s craziness at work. After a little family time, some R&R and quite a few chapters of the Hunger Games (it’s getting good!) I’m starting to feel like a real person again. 🙂

This morning I woke up starving. I made myself a sizable breakfast of Trader Joe’s gluten free waffles with Earth Balance, cinnamon and Stevia

plus coffee and a smoothie (1 c frozen blueberries, almond milk, 1/2 scoop chocolate sunwarrior, 1 tsp cocoa powder, 1 Tbsp almond butter)

After downing that, I was still hungry so I went back for a bowl of Trader Joe’s granola with almond butter

(x2)

Like I said, I was hungry!

A certain someone is still worn out from yesterday’s events.

She’s been snoring away all morning. 🙂

Let’s get to today’s topic, shall we?

Motivation Monday:

Over the weekend Muhammad Ali’s Celebrity Fight Night took place within walking distance from my house. It’s an annual star-studded celebrity event and silent auction to raise money for Parkinson’s disease.  Entry tickets start at $1500 – no, I did not attend. My private invite must have gotten lost in the mail…

In any event, the little I actually do know about Muhammad Ali comes from the Will Smith portrayal of the boxing heavyweight champ. The gist of what I can remember from the movie was that he was a cocky son of a gun but I don’t think there’s any denying that his confidence is a large part of what made him a success in the ring. With that in mind, I thought I’d draw upon one of his quotes as a source of inspiration for today’s Motivation Monday.

source

Ill be the first to admit, I’m a creature of habit. I know what I like and I tend to stick with it. I don’t like venturing into the wild and I’m extremely comfortable with a known outcome. Switching up my order at Starbucks and trying the sugar free mocha syrup in lieu of my typical sugar free hazelnut soy latte is taking a risk for me.

HOWEVER…I’m starting to learn that in life it’s necessary and often very beneficial to take risks.

For instance, yesterday I went rock climbing at an indoor rock gym. I had tried rock climbing maybe once in my life before and I wasn’t a fan but at a friend’s persistent urging I decided to give it another shot. It was every bit as terrifying as I remembered. Climbing a steep wall studded with tiny “grips,” hanging perilously above the vast, open (albeit, thickly padded) ground? No, thank you. I literally hated every moment of it. That’s one risk I won’t likely be taking again in the future.

The point of all this? I survived. And more importantly, I learned. I learned that I can take a risk and come out ok on the other side. Now I can confidently chalk rock climbing up as ‘not my cup of tea’ and move on to the next thing.

We all have to take risks in life if we want to learn and grow. Even knowing this, I often  have to push myself to take them. It’s human nature to be comfortable with what we know but that never leads to any change. What if there’s something better out there? Part of success in life is becoming comfortable with taking some of those larger risks. The fear of striking out into the unknown could be keeping you stuck in a less than stellar situation or holding you back from a wonderful opportunity.

I’m not suggesting you sign up for sky diving lessons (although maybe that’s your thing…) or even go rock climbing as I did. I’m just asking you to think about it – is there a risk you’ve been dying to take but you’re putting it off because you’re too afraid of what the outcome might be? What’s the worst that could happen?

—–

I’m off to spend the day with my sis. On our agenda: a morning hike, lunch and a little shopping + coffee. Sounds like the perfect day to me!

Hope your Monday is off to a great start!

Kristi

Question: What’s the last risk you took, big or small? Is there a risk that you’ve been putting off?

