Tags

, , ,

Hey, how’s your week going? 🙂

Mine’s been going pretty well! I was originally supposed to work Monday through Friday this week so I was fairly certain it was going to be a week from hell (I realize that working 5 days a week is what most people do but my workdays are long so when I’m scheduled extra days it’s a lot. Plus I had to pick up a Tuesday – my normal day off – and I’m pretty sure it always sucks when you have to work on your day off, right?) I’m pleased to report that it’s actually been a really laid back week. I’m not sure whether it’s because things have been slower at work (compared to the crazypants events of the past couple weeks), the fact that I’m feeling better rested than I have in awhile (more on that in a minute), or that I decided to take tomorrow off as a personal day (hey, we’ve been slow and I have vacation days to burn :)). Whatever the reason, I’m feeling so much more relaxed than I have in a looooong time. (Honestly, I think it’s the sleep!)

Last weekend when the dogs and I met with their dog trainer, my number one complaint that I presented to her was in regards to barking. For what seems like forever, Alan and Jelly Bean have woken me up by 5:45 am barking their little heads off – no big deal on my work days when I’m usually up well before then but on my days off, no bueno. Most nights, the dogs sleep in their crate which is located on the other side of the house. Alan and Eddy both have puppy mill backgrounds and unfortunately can’t be completely trusted to roam free during the night and having all 3 dogs in bed on a nightly basis really isn’t an option. I put the crate on the opposite side of the house since I tend to toss and turn in the morning and I thought if they didn’t hear me stir maybe the wouldn’t be so apt to bark – not the case.

The dog trainer suggested moving the crate into my bedroom with the idea that providing the dogs with a little more security might prevent them from barking. I was skeptical but I gave it a try Sunday night. After a little over 3 hours of unsuccessfully trying to fall asleep while Jelly whined relentlessly, I nixed that idea pretty quickly. The compromise? I moved their crate into the living room (closer to my bedroom) and have been letting Jelly Bean sleep with me. Alan and Eddy used to sleep like champs in their crate before Jelly came along so I figured they’d be fine. The past few nights have been pretty successful so I’m keeping my fingers crossed but I think I’ve found a solution! I can’t even tell you how excited the prospect of sleeping in past 6 makes me.

Plus I get to wake up in the morning to this little nugget.

I can get used to that. 🙂

This morning my alarm went off pretty early. I had planned to go to the gym but I was really struggling to get moving. After a few rounds of hitting the snooze button, I pushed myself to get up and I made it to the gym with just enough time to bust out 2.5 miles on the treadmill. I felt great. 🙂 Sometimes you just need a little push!

As I was leaving the gym my nose was flooded with the smell of warm cinnamon pancakes coming from U.S. Egg across the parking lot. Breakfast was decided for me right then. I didn’t have time to whip up any restaurant worthy pancakes but I did my best quick impression.

I had Van’s cinnamon apple waffles with greek yogurt, walnuts and maple syrup, with a side of scrambled eggs and extra strong coffee. A restaurant-worthy breakfast indeed!

Lunch today was Amy’s Lentil Soup with brown rice bread and a salad of cucumber, red and yellow bell peppers, broccoli, goat cheese and balsamic vinaigrette. Delish!

For dinner, I roasted some brussels sprouts and served them alongside leftover salmon and quinoa with marinara.

Tonight the dogs and I ran through their training skills with the clicker (they are loving it!)

New training treats:

(the trainer told me they’d go absolutely nuts for these and she was right!)

I’m going to unwind and get caught up on Bethenny Ever After. 

(Thinking a Skinnygirl margarita sounds good right about now… :))

Have a good night!

Kristi

What’s your favorite restaurant item to order for breakfast? I am nearly always a pancake or waffle person. 🙂

