Tags

, , ,

Happy Friday!!

Can I just tell you how good it feels to be off today? This is my second Friday off in a row  which is just about unheard of. A girl could get used to this. 🙂

This morning I had a kickboxing session with my trainer Kenny that, quite frankly, boxed my socks off. 🙂 I love boxing and I’m not sure why we haven’t done it sooner but I definitely want to make it a part of my regular routine. Kenny was Special Forces in the military and has a black belt in martial arts so he takes his kickboxing pretty seriously. It’s more like self defense training, really. Either way I dig it. I love any chance to put the gloves on and pound it out.

Today, he was teaching me how to do alternating roundhouse kicks and I was getting frustrated because I kept losing my balance when switching legs. I kept wanting to stop and practice until I got it right but Kenny kept pushing me to keep going, reminding me that I was just learning and it was ok that I didn’t have it perfect yet.

I’ve had a little boxing training but the kicks are still very new to me, yet I couldn’t help getting a little frustrated. No matter how much of a beginner I am, I always want to start off in the advanced class. 🙂 I decided to let it go and Kenny and I had fun laughing as I tried to power through my wobbly kicks as quickly as I could. I still had a great workout and I have no doubt I’ll make it to the advanced class someday if I keep at it. Kenny also reminded me that if I’m ever in a position where I need to defend myself, it’s not very likely going to be a perfect setup so it’s important to be prepared in any situation. He’s right, and this was just another lesson in my never-ending battle against perfectionism – my workout is not always going to be perfect and neither is life.

Breakfast this morning was a winner. I was really wanting banana and coconut and I also really wanted oatmeal so I came up with this concoction to satisfy my cravings.

I mixed 1 c dry Bob’s Red Mill gf Oats with 1/4 scoop chocolate protein powder, 1 Tbsp almond butter, 1 tsp cinnamon and 1/3 mashed banana and Stevia. Then I topped the whole thing with a little maple syrup and about 1/4 c almond milk (I prefer my oats cold and a little crunchy). Towards the end the cinnamon and maple syrup gave the banana almost a caramelized taste – it was delicious.

Lunch today was another SELF Magazine inspiration. My take on the salmon apple wrap.

(Not as pretty as their version – I can’t keep my Food For Live brown rice tortillas from crumbling. It still tasted pretty fantastic though).

I also blended myself a banana coffee protein smoothie:

{1 1/2 frozen banana, 1/2 scoop chocolate protein powder, 1 c almond milk and about 1 tsp instant coffee granules – plus a little shredded coconut on top for crunch).

I’m off to go car shopping and I know the salesmen can be brutal so I figured I’d need something to keep my energy up!

Hope you’re having a wonderful Friday!

Kristi

 

