Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Morning friends! 🙂 Happy Easter!

Yesterday, I met up with my mom after a much needed pedicure (I now have happy feet :)) and we hit up a few of my favorite shopping spots.

First on the agenda was a jaunt to quite possibly my favorite place on earth Sur La Table where I scored this donut pan (donut/doughnut? eh, who knows!)

About time I jumped on that bandwagon don’t you think? I can’t wait to try it out.

My mom and I also picked up a few random kitchen items.

(The hot pink dish scrubber was a no brainer).

My mom had heard of Plink garbage disposal cleaners so we decided to split a pack and give it a try. Last night I plinked my sink – and it was glorious. I followed the directions and ran the disposal first for about a minute to get rid of any food debris, then dropped one of the little scented Plink balls down the sink and ran the disposal again for a few seconds. The second it pulverized (I imagine) the Plink ball, a lovely burst of citrus orange filled my kitchen. I intend to Plink again.

We also stopped by Z Gallerie, another place I could probably happily live out the remainder of my life. I had my eye on new bedding and I wanted to purchase just about everything in the store but I restrained myself and walked away with only this porcelain elephant bowl.

How precious is that?

All in all it was a great afternoon – I got to spend some time with my mom, picked up a few trinkets and toys and it was a nice, relaxing reprieve from the stress of searching for a used car (still no luck).

—–

This morning’s breakfast was inspired by Julie’s Banana Pecan Coconut Baked Oatmeal. I was lying on the couch checking out twitter and catching up on the morning’s blogs (my typical morning routine) when I spied this recipe. It sounded like the perfect Sunday morning breakfast only I didn’t want to wait for the oatmeal to bake – I was super hungry this morning – so I whipped up my own quick little version. Sadly, I didn’t have any pecans on hand so I used walnuts instead. Julie’s recipe looks fantastic though and l definitely want to try it in the future when I’m more prepared. 🙂

Quick Coconut Banana Walnut Oats:

Ingredients:

– 1 c Bob’s Red Mill gluten free oats (or any quick cooking oats would be fine)

– 1 egg white

– 1/2 tbsp coconut Earth Balance (regular butter would be fine, I just wanted the extra coconut flavor)

– scant 1/4 c almond milk (or milk of choice)

– 1/2 banana. silced

– 1/2 Tbsp maple syrup

– 1 1/2 tsp cinnamon

– 1 packet Stevia (or sweetener of choice)

– Shredded coconut for topping

Directions:

In a small saucepan, melt the coconut butter on medium heat and then add the egg white. Allow the egg white to cook until it just starts to become opaque and then stir in the cinnamon and stevia. Next, pour in the oats, stirring thoroughly to coat them completely in the egg mixture. Add the banana, maple syrup and walnuts, stirring about 30 seconds more just to warm everything up. Finally, pour in the milk and stir a few seconds more until it all absorbs. Remove oats from the heat, pour into a bowl and top with shredded coconut.

Note: I prefer my oats somewhat on the dry and crunchy side. If you like your oats a little softer you could certainly modify by adding more milk to reach your desired texture.

I enjoyed my oats with a hot cup of coffee. Oh coffee, why did I ever quit you?

Which brings me to my next topic – do I need one of these?

source

At Sur La Table yesterday, they had a demo table of Nespresso machines. This one is a dual espresso maker and milk frother. Mmm… I think I’m going to keep it on my wish list. 🙂

Hope you have a wonderful and relaxing day, whatever is on your holiday agenda!

Kristi

If you had $1000 to spend at any store where would you go? I think you know what my pick would be. 🙂

