Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Hey friends, how’s Tuesday treating you? 🙂

I’ve had a pretty jam-packed day. I started off with my usual breakfast as of late – a coffee banana coconut smoothie. The warmer the weather gets, the more I’m craving this cold delicious breakfast. This morning’s smoothie was extra thick so I ate it out of a bowl.

To be honest, I was pretty satisfied after that but I wanted to make sure I had enough energy for my workout so I also had a Luna bar.

My trainer Kenny had promised me an intense workout today and he definitely delivered. He had me alternating between boxing drills, burpees, pushups and sprints on the treadmill. – my heart was pumping! I’m thinking tomorrow is going to be a rest day for sure. 🙂

After my workout I stopped off at the grocery store to pick up for food for the week then met up with my mom for lunch at Wildflower Bread Company. I ordered the chopped salad (arugula, salmon, red bell pepper, Israeli couscous, sweet corn, dried cranberries and sunflower seeds) accompanied by some mango green tea.

I love chopped salads and this one is fantastic. There’s just something I really like about all of the textures and different flavors combined into every bite – it really works for me.

After lunch I had an appointment and then my mom and I headed over to Ryan’s Pet Supplies to pick up a few things for the dogs. Ryan’s is a wholesale pet supply warehouse (it’s basically a Costco for dogs :)) and it’s always fun to look up and down the aisles upon aisles of pet treats and toys. Mere seconds after we arrived, just as I was sizing up a cushy new dog bed, they announced the store would be closing in 5 minutes. My mom and I figured we had plenty of time but apparently Ryan’s closes at 4:30 on the dot – how odd! We made a mad dash for the treat aisle, grabbed what we could, and booked it to the checkout.

We still made out with some pretty good loot. 😉

*****

So I imagine many of you are trying to figure out what to do with all those hardboiled eggs leftover from Easter? While there’s not much better in my opinion than eating them straight up with a little bit of hummus (so good!) or in a delicious egg salad sandwich, here are a couple other quick and easy meal ideas to help you use up your eggs.

Warmed Kale, Cannellini Bean and Broccoli Salad

Ingredients:

– 2 c kale

– 1/4 c cannellini beans

– 3/4 c chopped broccoli

– 1/4 c chopped red bell pepper

– 1 hardboiled egg, chopped

– 1/2 Tbsp olive oil

– 1/2 Tbsp tamari (could also substitute soy sauce)

– pinch of sea salt

Directions:

In a large sautee pan, coat kale in olive oil and sea salt and sautee on medium heat for 1-2 minutes . Add beans, broccoli, pepper and tamari and stir until just warmed. Remove from heat and transfer to serving dish. Top with egg and enjoy!

Easy Peanut Noodles

ingredients:

-1/2 c brown rice pasta (or pasta of choice)

– 1/4 c chopped cabbage

– 1/4 c cannellini beans (I had some cannellini beans I needed to use up but shelled edamame would also be a great option here)

– 1 Tbsp peanut butter

– 1 Tbsp tamari or soy

– 1 tsp maple syrup (honey would be fine here too)

– 1 hardboiled egg, chopped

– chopped scallions

Directions:

Cook noodles according to package instructions, drain and set aside. In a small bowl, combine peanut butter, tamari and maple syrup. Gently warm noodles, cabbage and beans in a medium nonstick skillet over low heat. Pour peanut sauce over over noodles and stir well to coat. Remove from heat, add egg and scallions and serve.

*** These noodles may be served hot but they are also delicious cold. Chopped peanuts would also be a fantastic addition.

Each of these dishes serves one. Let me know if any of you guys try them out!

I’m off to catch Dancing With the Stars – elimination episode tonight! Hope you’re having a wonderful evening.

Kristi

What’s your favorite way to use up hardboiled eggs? Any recipes to share?

 

