Tags

, , , , ,

Hey friends! 🙂

Sorry I missed you yesterday – my back has been kind of bugging me and after work I pretty much camped out on the floor with some pillows, watched Dancing With the Stars and went to bed. I actually managed to get the best night’s sleep I’ve had in awhile so maybe a little relaxation was just what I needed.

I’ve had a history of back pain off and on ever since I was in a car accident in high school and let me tell ya, it’s no fun. It’s sad to say but I’ve kind of grown used to a little discomfort when it comes to my back, so when it flares up from time to time I usually don’t pay it much attention. However, the past 10 days or so it’s been bothering me pretty consistently so I decided it’s time to get it checked out.

I made an appointment with a sports medicine doctor for this Friday so we’ll see. I debated on whether to return to the sports medicine doc I’ve seen before or see a new doctor (I found a woman chiropractor nearby who seems nice) but I decided it might be easier to just go back to the same place since they already have my records. I’m kind of hoping to avoid the MRI machine (I’ve had a couple already) but I figured a little physical therapy might not be a bad idea. And of course there’s the usual things I know I should be doing that I don’t do enough – massage, yoga etc. Maybe this is finally a reason to try acupuncture? I’ll keep you posted.

—–

I made a quick and easy breakfast this morning since I want to get to the gym early.

A strawberry banana peanut butter smoothie (In the blender: 1/2 frozen banana, 3/4 c frozen organic strawberries, 1 scoop sunwarrior chocolate protein powder, 3/4 c almond milk and a hefty spoonful of pb). This creamy, cool breakfast hit the spot. It may or may not have been inspired in part by reading this post from Jenna on how to make easy homemade ice cream – I seriously need to try this!

I hope your Tuesday is off to a great start – I’ll see you later with a recipe for ricotta pancakes if all goes well! 🙂

Kristi

Anyone else out there have back problems? What has worked for you?

