Tags

, , , , , , ,

Hey how’s your morning going? πŸ™‚

Mine started off with this detox breakfast,

{a mango coconut smoothie}

followed a short while later by a bowl of warm quinoa with blueberries, almond milk and cashew cream.

I love to cleanse. In fact, I had kind of forgotten how good it feels, then yesterday at work as I was sitting and sipping my tea the warm fuzzy feeling came rushing back to me. I think cleanses and detoxes can get kind of a bad rap sometimes (detox is such a harsh word isn’t it?) but for me it’s all about taking time to care for my body, relax and take it easy on myself.

To me, there is so much more to a cleanse than just cleaning up your diet. It’s also a chance to rid myself of all the unnecessary things that are weighing me down. This week, I’ve been trying to work on ways to detoxify (that’s a word right?) my life too.

For instance, take yesterday at work. We were fairly busy so I never got a chance to take a *true* lunch break – in fact, I often eat lunch at my desk while simultaneously working on charts or calling clients. As I sat down to eat, I immediately had the urge to finish up a chart that I’d been working on and I had to stop myself twice from making calls to clients. Truthfully, I had nothing pressing going on (or certainly nothing that couldn’t wait the 15 minutes it would take for me to eat my bowl of rice and veggies) but I’ve become so attuned to multitasking that it felt unnatural to just sit and relax and enjoy my lunch.

Part of being on this particular cleanse is focusing on awareness and paying attention to your body’s hunger cues (although you certainly don’t have to be on a cleanse to practice this habit) so for the rest of the day, whenever I would sit down to eat or drink anything I made it a point to set work aside and just relax and enjoy it. We live in such a busy world and it’s so easy to get caught up in it so I think this is a great trick for promoting mindfulness, especially when it comes to food.

Detox Your Life

This cleanse has got me thinking of other ways I can ‘detox’ my life. We all have technology at the tip of our fingers these days which can be both a blessing and a curse. I am a little embarrassed to admit that, thanks to my iPhone, I have been guilty of checking my email upwards of 15-20 times in one day (while stopped at a red light, while walking the dogs, even in bed!) It’s obsessive and unnecessary. I don’t have anything so pressing that my email requires that kind of attention. I’m not the president of the United States (but if I were, you can be sure I’d hire someone else to handle my email!)

The point is, just because we have access to technology 24/7 doesn’t mean we need to use it. Lately I’m trying to make a habit to check my email no more than 3 times per day – in the morning, mid-day and afternoon and I’m declaring email off limits after 5 pm (unless I truly am expecting something important).

Text messages are another thing with which I’m constantly being inundated (as I’m sure many of you are). It’s important to remember to take time away from the phone! So many of us spend entire lunches and dinners with friends and family checking our cell phones, texting, catching up on news or weather, playing games (hello, Words With Friends!) I know I’m certainly guilty of this. The problem is, not only does being glued to our phones take away from the enjoyment of life but feeling a need to be constantly connected can lead to stress and anxiety that have negative effects on our minds and bodies.

I’m trying to remind myself that I don’t have to know what’s happening on twitter every second of the day or respond to every text message with lightning speed. It’s ok to step away from my phone for awhile – it will be there when I get back. I especially need to focus on leaving my phone alone while I’m spending time with friends or loved ones. I’m a major multi-tasker, don’t get me wrong, but sometimes it’s actually better to focus on one thing at a time.

Question: Is there anything weighing you down? How do you detoxify your life?

*****

Well, I’ve got my MRI today and since they could only schedule it for late morning I won’t be heading into the office until later in the afternoon Β – which my work day should be rather quick and painless. πŸ™‚ Here’s wishing you a quick and painless work day too!

Kristi


