Tags

, , , , ,

Well, it was back to the doctor this morning for my MRI results.

The verdict: A bulging disk between my 8th and 9th thoracic vertebrae. The good news is the doctor says it’s mild and should be able to heal with physical therapy.

He also wants me to wear this posture shirt

It has specially placed ribbing down the middle, sides and back that are designed to support your core and help hold muscles in a more balanced posture. My doctor said that a lot of his colleagues swear by it during long orthopedic surgeries. I was a little skeptical at first but when I tried it on I instantly felt quite a bit more comfortable so I decided to go for it – I even wore it later at work. It fits a bit snug (it’s supposed to) but I definitely felt like it helped my posture throughout the day. I have a tendency to slouch my shoulders but having the shirt on helped push them up and back.

He said I could either wear the shirt just on surgery days or try wearing it for a few hours every day for 4-5 weeks which will hopefully train my muscles to hold a better posture over time. I’m going to try it for a few days and see how it goes. It’s definitely nbd beneath a scrub top but a little tougher to conceal under everyday clothes.

After the doctor’s visit, I had some time to kill before I needed to head back to work so I popped on over to AJ’s to take a breather and grab a little sushi.

My lunch that I’d packed for work was a little on the light side so I was grateful for the snack. Besides, it’s always fun to treat yourself a little every now and then. 🙂

I also grabbed an iced tea for the road.

The rest of the work day was rather uneventful (still no pig :() and I’ve pretty much spent the evening just lounging around (read: dinner and Modern Family). I’m thinking about an early workout so it’s bedtime for this girl!

Hope you’re having a lovely evening!

Kristi

Question: Have you ever heard of a posture shirt? What’s the strangest thing you’ve ever had to do or wear for an injury? Back in November when I had a stress fracture in my foot I almost had to putter around in a giant boot for a few weeks – until I found out the cost of said boot was over $300. No thank you!

